Home / CDL schools / New Jersey / Newark
CDL schools in Newark, New Jersey
2 schools in Newark are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Newark on New Jersey's approved training list runs $1,100 to $5,975, with a $3,875 median across 25 programs. Truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area earn a median $65,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · New Jersey training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Newark; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because New Jersey's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Newark training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area; 65,100 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Newark
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 13 active registrants in Newark: 10 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 3 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 2 employers and carriers training their own drivers and 1 bus or coach operator.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 2500 for CDL | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-26 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 609-666-4907 |
| New Entry 60 Park Pl Ste 405 | Theory · range · road | 2025-04-25 | not posted | Class B | 973-230-0875 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on New Jersey's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Newark
| School | City | Miles from Newark | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Express Driving School INC | Harrison, NJ | 1 | 2022-01-31 | not posted |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | Lyndhurst, NJ | 6 | 2022-02-06 | $2,850 |
| Joachim Academy | Union, NJ | 6 | 2022-09-06 | not posted |
| Road Scholar Driving School | Bloomfield, NJ | 7 | 2026-01-12 | not posted |
| Driving Academy - Linden NJ | Linden, NJ | 8 | 2026-09-29 | not posted |
| Winsor CDL Driving School | Linden, NJ | 9 | 2026-09-28 | not posted |
| Barnes Driving School Car, Bus, Truck, Trailer Corporation | New York, NY | 9 | 2026-01-06 | not posted |
| Smith & Solomon, Linden Campus | Linden, NJ | 9 | 2026-09-28 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Newark's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Newark
8 programs nearest Newark posted tuition to New Jersey's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 25 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Avenue Driving School Newark | CDL a | Newark, NJ | 0 | $4,500 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | A and B CDL Refresher Course | Lyndhurst, NJ | 6 | $2,850 | $20 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | B Manual CDL | Lyndhurst, NJ | 6 | $2,875 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | CDL Class A Automatic | Lyndhurst, NJ | 6 | $3,875 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Ideal Driving School Inc. Union City | School Bus Driver | Union City, NJ | 8 | $4,000 | $285 | not reported | not reported |
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City | Adv CDL Class A B Passenger Tractor | Union City, NJ | 8 | $4,800 | $480 | not reported | not reported |
| Ideal Driving School Inc. Union City | Truck Driver Class A | Union City, NJ | 8 | $4,500 | $195 | 56% | 64% |
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City | Adv CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Driving | Union City, NJ | 8 | $3,999 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
New Jersey fees: class a license (4 years) $42 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Newark
A New Jersey workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list New Jersey sites. New Jersey terms · all carriers
Check a Newark school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 14 Newark providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 916 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 323,808 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Newark?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,100 to $5,975, median $3,875. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Newark?
2 locations are registered in Newark for Class A training, and 36 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Newark school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Newark
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Newark. All New Jersey cities