Home / CDL schools / New York / New York

CDL schools in New York, New York

1 school in New York is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of New York on New York's approved training list runs $1,100 to $5,975, with a $3,875 median across 25 programs. Truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area earn a median $65,040 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · New York training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

1

Class A school open to the public in New York; 1 teaches theory, range and road.

$4,050

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the New York permit ($10) and CDL ($165). Medical exam extra.

2

New York training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.

$65,040

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area; 65,100 work there.

Every registered Class A school in New York

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 11 active registrants in New York: 10 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers.

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
Barnes Driving School Car, Bus, Truck, Trailer Corporation
265 west 37 st Suite 1404
Theory · range · road 2026-01-06 not posted Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat 917-402-4884

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on New York's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of New York

SchoolCityMiles from New YorkRegistry updatedPosted tuition
Queens Trucking School INC.Astoria, NY42026-09-03not posted
A Safest Driving School IncJackson Heights, NY52022-02-08not posted
Northside Driving School,ltdRidgewood, NY62026-09-24not posted
Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc.Lyndhurst, NJ62022-02-06$2,850
Elegant Driving School INC.Bronx, NY72026-09-28not posted
Atlas Driving School LLCOzone Park, NY82022-02-12not posted
Express Driving School INCHarrison, NJ92022-01-31not posted
Ayaan Busing & Trucking Institute IncRichmond Hill, NY92022-02-15not posted

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of New York's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in New York

8 programs nearest New York posted tuition to New York's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 25 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseCityMilesTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
Ideal Driving School Inc. Union City School Bus Driver Union City, NJ 2 $4,000 $285 not reported not reported
EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City Adv CDL Class A B Passenger Tractor Union City, NJ 2 $4,800 $480 not reported not reported
EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City CDL Class A Automatic Tractor Trailer Union City, NJ 2 $3,875 $125 not reported not reported
Ideal Driving School Inc. Union City Truck Driver Class A Union City, NJ 2 $4,500 $195 56% 64%
EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City Adv CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Driving Union City, NJ 2 $3,999 $125 not reported not reported
Ideal Driving School Inc. Union City CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Union City, NJ 2 $3,800 $0 85% 53%
Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. CDL Class A Automatic Lyndhurst, NJ 7 $3,875 $0 not reported not reported
Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. A and B CDL License Training Lyndhurst, NJ 7 $2,850 $20 96% 60%

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

New York fees: commercial learner permit $10, skills test $40, class a license (8 years) $165 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near New York

A New York workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list New York sites. New York terms · all carriers

Check a New York school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 2 New York providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 312 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 8,584,629 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in New York?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,100 to $5,975, median $3,875. With New York's permit and license, about $4,050 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in New York?

1 location is registered in New York for Class A training, and 36 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a New York school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near New York

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from New York. All New York cities