Home / CDL schools / Indiana / Michigan City
CDL schools in Michigan City, Indiana
1 school in Michigan City is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Michigan City on Indiana's approved training list runs $2,475 to $4,995, with a $4,775 median across 7 programs. Truck drivers in the Michigan City-La Porte, IN area earn a median $58,240 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Indiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Michigan City; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Indiana permit ($17) and CDL ($35). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Michigan City.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Michigan City-La Porte, IN area; 620 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Michigan City
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 2 active registrants in Michigan City: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training (3 sites) | Theory · range · road | 2026-07-09 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 317-459-7193 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Indiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Michigan City
| School | City | Miles from Michigan City | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveCo CDL Learning Center | La Porte, IN | 10 | 2025-12-16 | $4,895 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | La Porte, IN | 11 | 2023-06-13 | not posted |
| Premier Truck Driving School | Valparaiso, IN | 16 | 2026-09-24 | $4,995 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Valparaiso, IN | 18 | 2026-07-09 | not posted |
| DriveCo CDL Learning Center Gary | Gary, IN | 19 | 2025-12-16 | $2,475 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Michigan City's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Michigan City
7 programs nearest Michigan City posted tuition to Indiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 7 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kllm Driving Academy | Kllm Driving Academy (10003080 Burns Harbor) | Burns Harbor, IN | 11 | $3,748 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Ivy Tech Community College | Class A CDL License Truck Driver Training - Kllm (10003213 Burns Harbor) | Burns Harbor, IN | 11 | $4,895 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco | Truck Driver Training (10000757 Gary) | Gary, IN | 20 | $4,775 | $0 | 95% | 49% |
| Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco | Truck Driver Training Refresher Program (10000756 Gary) | Gary, IN | 20 | $2,475 | $0 | 100% | 56% |
| Premier Truck Driving School | Premier Truck Driving School (10002268 Valparaiso) | Valparaiso, IN | 20 | $4,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) (10002812 Gary) | Gary, IN | 24 | $3,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (10001828 Gary) | Gary, IN | 24 | $4,995 | $0 | 84% | 41% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Indiana fees: commercial learner permit $17, skills test $200, class a license (4 years) $35 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Michigan City
A Indiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Indiana sites. Indiana terms · all carriers
Check a Michigan City school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Michigan City. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 53 for-hire trucking companies are based here.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Michigan City?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,475 to $4,995, median $4,775. With Indiana's permit and license, about $4,827 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Michigan City?
1 location is registered in Michigan City for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Michigan City school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Michigan City
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Michigan City. All Indiana cities