Home / CDL schools / Indiana / Hammond

CDL schools in Hammond, Indiana

1 school in Hammond is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Hammond on Indiana's approved training list runs $2,475 to $6,775, with a $4,835 median across 12 programs. Truck drivers in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN area earn a median $62,300 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Indiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

1

Class A school open to the public in Hammond; 1 teaches theory, range and road.

$4,887

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Indiana permit ($17) and CDL ($35). Medical exam extra.

1

Hammond training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.

$62,300

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN area; 62,210 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Hammond

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in Hammond: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
Select CDL Driving School Inc.
1340 141st St
Theory · range · road 2026-09-15 not posted Class A only not listed

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Indiana's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of Hammond

SchoolCityMiles from HammondRegistry updatedPosted tuition
Driving AcademyGary, IN42024-08-09not posted
Progressive Truck Driving School, INCLansing, IL62025-12-10$3,775
160 Driving AcademySouth Holland, IL72026-09-18not posted
Olive-Harvey College/City Colleges of ChicagoChicago, IL72022-04-04not posted
Fast-Pass Trucking TrainingGriffith, IN72026-07-09not posted
First International CDL schoolRiverdale, IL72024-12-19not posted
Division Truck Driving SchoolBlue Island, IL92022-03-07not posted
160 Driving AcademyChicago, IL92026-09-18$4,950

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Hammond's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Hammond

8 programs nearest Hammond posted tuition to Indiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 12 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseCityMilesTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
Progressive Truck Driving School Inc. Class A CDL Truck Driving Training Course 200 Clock Hours (4512 Lansing) Lansing, IL 6 $3,775 $573 85% not reported
Progressive Truck Driving School Inc. Class A CDL Truck Driving Training Course 300 Clock Hours (4516 Lansing) Lansing, IL 6 $6,775 $573 not reported not reported
Progressive Truck Driving School Inc. Class A CDL Truck Driving Training Course 240 Clock Hours (10003534 Lansing) Lansing, IL 6 $4,575 $573 not reported not reported
160 Driving Academy Class A CDL License Training Course (10001828 Gary) Gary, IN 9 $4,995 $0 84% 41%
160 Driving Academy Class A CDL License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) (10002812 Gary) Gary, IN 9 $3,995 $0 not reported not reported
Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco Truck Driver Training Refresher Program (10000756 Gary) Gary, IN 12 $2,475 $0 100% 56%
Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco Truck Driver Training (10000757 Gary) Gary, IN 12 $4,775 $0 95% 49%
160 Driving Academy Commercial Drivers License (CDL) License Training Chicago, IL 18 $4,950 $0 84% 80%

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

Indiana fees: commercial learner permit $17, skills test $200, class a license (4 years) $35 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Hammond

A Indiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Indiana sites. Indiana terms · all carriers

Check a Hammond school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 1 Hammond provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 155 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 75,712 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Hammond?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,475 to $6,775, median $4,835. With Indiana's permit and license, about $4,887 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Hammond?

1 location is registered in Hammond for Class A training, and 30 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Hammond school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Hammond

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Hammond. All Indiana cities