Home / CDL schools / Indiana / Gary
CDL schools in Gary, Indiana
2 schools in Gary are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Gary on Indiana's approved training list runs $2,475 to $6,775, with a $4,675 median across 10 programs. Truck drivers in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN area earn a median $62,300 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Indiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Gary; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Indiana permit ($17) and CDL ($35). Medical exam extra.
Gary training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN area; 62,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Gary
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in Gary: 3 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveCo CDL Learning Center Gary 8487 Melton Road | Theory · range · road | 2025-12-16 | $2,475 to $4,775 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 219-887-3880 |
| Driving Academy 429 Blaine St | Theory · range · road | 2024-08-09 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Indiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Gary
| School | City | Miles from Gary | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Griffith, IN | 6 | 2026-07-09 | not posted |
| Select CDL Driving School Inc. | Hammond, IN | 9 | 2026-09-15 | not posted |
| Premier Truck Driving School | Valparaiso, IN | 11 | 2026-09-24 | $4,995 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Valparaiso, IN | 12 | 2026-07-09 | not posted |
| Progressive Truck Driving School, INC | Lansing, IL | 12 | 2025-12-10 | $3,775 |
| 160 Driving Academy | South Holland, IL | 15 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| Olive-Harvey College/City Colleges of Chicago | Chicago, IL | 15 | 2022-04-04 | not posted |
| First International CDL school | Riverdale, IL | 16 | 2024-12-19 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Gary's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Gary
4 programs in Gary posted tuition to Indiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 10 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco | Truck Driver Training Refresher Program (10000756 Gary) | $2,475 | $0 | 100% | 56% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) (10002812 Gary) | $3,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Kimc Southwest Houston LLC D/b/a Driveco | Truck Driver Training (10000757 Gary) | $4,775 | $0 | 95% | 49% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (10001828 Gary) | $4,995 | $0 | 84% | 41% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Indiana fees: commercial learner permit $17, skills test $200, class a license (4 years) $35 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Gary
A Indiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Indiana sites. Indiana terms · all carriers
Check a Gary school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Gary providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 191 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 67,289 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Gary?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,475 to $6,775, median $4,675. With Indiana's permit and license, about $4,727 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Gary?
2 locations are registered in Gary for Class A training, and 20 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Gary school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Gary
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Gary. All Indiana cities