Home / CDL schools / Indiana / La Porte
CDL schools in La Porte, Indiana
2 schools in La Porte are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of La Porte on Indiana's approved training list runs $3,748 to $4,995, with a $4,895 median across 7 programs. Truck drivers in the Michigan City-La Porte, IN area earn a median $58,240 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Indiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in La Porte; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Indiana permit ($17) and CDL ($35). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in La Porte.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Michigan City-La Porte, IN area; 620 work there.
Every registered Class A school in La Porte
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in La Porte: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveCo CDL Learning Center 1900 Whirlpool Drive | Theory · range · road | 2025-12-16 | $4,895 | Class B, Hazmat | 219-325-3143 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Theory · range · road | 2023-06-13 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 317-459-7193 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Indiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of La Porte
| School | City | Miles from La Porte | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Michigan City, IN | 10 | 2026-07-09 | not posted |
| Truck Driver Institute, Inc | South Bend, IN | 19 | 2026-09-23 | not posted |
| Premier Truck Driving School | Valparaiso, IN | 23 | 2026-09-24 | $4,995 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | Valparaiso, IN | 23 | 2026-07-09 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy | South Bend, IN | 24 | 2026-09-18 | $3,995 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of La Porte's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in La Porte
7 programs nearest La Porte posted tuition to Indiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 7 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ivy Tech Community College | Class A CDL License Truck Driver Training (6154 La Porte) | La Porte, IN | 0 | $4,895 | $0 | 96% | 65% |
| Kllm Driving Academy | Kllm Driving Academy (10003080 Burns Harbor) | Burns Harbor, IN | 18 | $3,748 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Truck Driver Institute Of Indiana Inc. | Commercial Drivers License CDL A (truck Driver Training) (1136 South Bend) | South Bend, IN | 22 | $4,895 | $100 | 90% | 45% |
| Truck Driver Institute of Indiana Inc. | Commercial Drivers License CDL A (Truck Driver Training) | South Bend, IN | 22 | $4,995 | $0 | 100% | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (10001842 South Bend) | South Bend, IN | 23 | $4,995 | $0 | 87% | 66% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) (10002817 South Ben | South Bend, IN | 23 | $3,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Premier Truck Driving School | Premier Truck Driving School (10002268 Valparaiso) | Valparaiso, IN | 25 | $4,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Indiana fees: commercial learner permit $17, skills test $200, class a license (4 years) $35 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near La Porte
A Indiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Indiana sites. Indiana terms · all carriers
Check a La Porte school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in La Porte. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 37 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 22,600 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in La Porte?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,748 to $4,995, median $4,895. With Indiana's permit and license, about $4,947 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in La Porte?
2 locations are registered in La Porte for Class A training, and 7 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a La Porte school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near La Porte
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from La Porte. All Indiana cities