Home / CDL schools / Indiana / South Bend
CDL schools in South Bend, Indiana
2 schools in South Bend are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of South Bend on Indiana's approved training list runs $3,995 to $4,995, with a $4,895 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI area earn a median $56,820 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Indiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in South Bend; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Indiana permit ($17) and CDL ($35). Medical exam extra.
South Bend training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI area; 1,840 work there.
Every registered Class A school in South Bend
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 15 active registrants in South Bend: 12 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 3 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 school district or public school program, 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers and 1 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truck Driver Institute, Inc 24645 State Road 23 | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-23 | not posted | Class A only | 574-289-9211 |
| 160 Driving Academy 220 Dean Johnson Boulevard, Room 210 | Part of Class A | 2026-09-18 | $3,995 to $4,995 | Class B, Hazmat | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Indiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of South Bend
| School | City | Miles from South Bend | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy | Goshen, IN | 21 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| DriveCo CDL Learning Center | La Porte, IN | 21 | 2025-12-16 | $4,895 |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | La Porte, IN | 21 | 2023-06-13 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of South Bend's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in South Bend
4 programs in South Bend posted tuition to Indiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) (10002817 South Ben | $3,995 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Truck Driver Institute Of Indiana Inc. | Commercial Drivers License CDL A (truck Driver Training) (1136 South Bend) | $4,895 | $100 | 90% | 45% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL License Training Course (10001842 South Bend) | $4,995 | $0 | 87% | 66% |
| Truck Driver Institute of Indiana Inc. | Commercial Drivers License CDL A (Truck Driver Training) | $4,995 | $0 | 100% | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Indiana fees: commercial learner permit $17, skills test $200, class a license (4 years) $35 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near South Bend
A Indiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Indiana sites. Indiana terms · all carriers
Check a South Bend school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 4 South Bend providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 190 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 103,201 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in South Bend?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,995 to $4,995, median $4,895. With Indiana's permit and license, about $4,947 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in South Bend?
2 locations are registered in South Bend for Class A training, and 5 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a South Bend school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near South Bend
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from South Bend. All Indiana cities