Home / CDL schools / Arizona / Tucson
CDL schools in Tucson, Arizona
5 schools in Tucson are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Tucson on Arizona's approved training list runs $1,426 to $11,995, with a $4,110 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the Tucson, AZ area earn a median $56,640 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Arizona training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Tucson; 5 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Arizona permit ($25) and CDL ($25). Medical exam extra.
Tucson training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Tucson, AZ area; 3,820 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Tucson
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 29 active registrants in Tucson: 29 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southwest Truck Driver Training 1230 W. Glenn St | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-22 | $4,110 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 520-620-6350 |
| HDS Truck Driving Institute 6251 S Wilmot Road | Theory · range · road | 2026-04-30 | $4,495 to $11,995 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 520-675-3422 |
| Driving Academy 1870 W Prince Rd | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-17 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus | 520-209-1675 |
| Workforce Training Academy USA LLC (2 sites) 3820 S. Palo Verde Rd #113 | Theory · range · road | 2024-10-01 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 520-777-6462 |
| Pima County Community College District 6680 South Country Club Road | Theory · range · road | 2023-08-23 | $1,426 to $3,402 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 520-206-2744 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Arizona's training list.
What CDL school costs in Tucson
9 programs in Tucson posted tuition to Arizona's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pima Community College | CTT: CDL Basic Vehicle Operations-Coach/Transit Bus Certific | $1,426 | $0 | 47% | 100% |
| Pima Community College | CTT: Autonomous Vehicle Driver & Operations Specialist Certi | $1,427 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Pima Community College | CTT: CDL training'Class A Vehicle Driver Certificate | $3,402 | $0 | 49% | 100% |
| 160 Driving Academy | 160 Hour CDL Class A Truck Driving Program | $4,000 | $0 | 83% | 59% |
| Southwest Truck Driver Training Inc. - Tucson | Class A CDL Refresher Certificate | $4,110 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| HDS Truck Driving Institute | Class a CDL | $4,495 | $30 | 86% | 68% |
| HDS Truck Driving Institute | Commercial Truck Driver Program | $5,495 | $30 | 85% | 90% |
| Workforce Training Academy USA | Class A CDL | $5,500 | $700 | 89% | 45% |
| HDS Truck Driving Institute | Professional Truck Driver Program | $11,995 | $30 | 77% | 96% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Arizona fees: commercial learner permit $25, skills test $25, class a license (8 years) $25 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Tucson
A Arizona workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Arizona sites. Arizona terms · all carriers
Check a Tucson school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 7 Tucson providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 646 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 548,371 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Tucson?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,426 to $11,995, median $4,110. With Arizona's permit and license, about $4,160 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Tucson?
5 locations are registered in Tucson for Class A training, and 5 are within 25 miles of the city. 3 updated their registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Tucson school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Tucson
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.