Home / CDL schools / Arizona / Phoenix
CDL schools in Phoenix, Arizona
6 schools in Phoenix are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Phoenix on Arizona's approved training list runs $1,495 to $7,695, with a $5,228 median across 8 programs. Truck drivers in the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ area earn a median $59,770 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Arizona training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Phoenix; 4 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Arizona permit ($25) and CDL ($25). Medical exam extra.
Phoenix training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 41 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ area; 30,480 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Phoenix
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 48 active registrants in Phoenix: 45 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 3 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers and 2 bus or coach operators.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truck Driving Schools of America 325 31st AVE | Part of Class A | 2026-09-28 | not posted | Class B | 623-907-1231 |
| SAGE Truck Driving Schools 9215 N Black Canyon Hwy | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-24 | $5,405 | Class B | 520-476-3280 |
| Another Level CDL School, LLC. 1326 W Hadley St | Theory · range · road | 2026-07-30 | not posted | Class A only | 602-218-8868 |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (PHX) 2350 S 48th Avenue | Part of Class A | 2025-10-20 | $7,695 | Class A only | 800-831-1300 |
| Embark Truck Driving Schools Phoenix 2923 N 35th Ave | Theory · range · road | 2024-10-03 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 623-889-5725 |
| Southwest Truck Driver Training 2323 South 51st Avenue | Theory · range · road | 2024-06-03 | $1,495 to $2,695 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 602-352-0704 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Arizona's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Phoenix
| School | City | Miles from Phoenix | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona Automotive Institute | Glendale, AZ | 5 | 2026-09-30 | $5,050 |
| Next Gear Trucking | Glendale, AZ | 7 | 2026-09-29 | not posted |
| MG Truck Driving School LLC | Glendale, AZ | 11 | 2026-06-09 | $6,500 |
| Truck Driving Schools of America | Avondale, AZ | 12 | 2026-07-31 | not posted |
| John Wheeler CDL School | Mesa, AZ | 16 | 2026-09-21 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Phoenix's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Phoenix
4 programs in Phoenix posted tuition to Arizona's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 8 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix Truck Driving Institute | 40 Hour Class A CDL Refresher Course | $1,495 | $30 | not reported | not reported |
| Phoenix Truck Driving Institute | 80 Hour Class A CDL Refresher Course | $2,695 | $30 | not reported | not reported |
| United Education Institute dba SAGE Truck Driving Schools | CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Driver Basic (TTD150) | $5,405 | $25 | 63% | 71% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School | Commercial Truck Driver Training | $7,695 | $0 | 88% | 60% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Arizona fees: commercial learner permit $25, skills test $25, class a license (8 years) $25 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Phoenix
A Arizona workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Arizona sites. Arizona terms · all carriers
Check a Phoenix school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 46 Phoenix providers from the registry, 41 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,926 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 1,665,481 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Phoenix?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,495 to $7,695, median $5,228. With Arizona's permit and license, about $5,278 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Phoenix?
6 locations are registered in Phoenix for Class A training, and 11 are within 25 miles of the city. 3 updated their registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Phoenix school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Phoenix
Also within 35 miles: Avondale, AZ (1); Mesa, AZ (1). All Arizona cities