Home / CDL schools / Washington / Olympia
CDL schools in Olympia, Washington
2 schools in Olympia are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Olympia on Washington's approved training list runs $1,985 to $12,287, with a $5,110 median across 25 programs. Truck drivers in the Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater, WA area earn a median $63,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Washington training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Olympia; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Washington permit ($40) and CDL ($156). Medical exam extra.
Olympia training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Olympia-Lacey-Tumwater, WA area; 1,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Olympia
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 10 active registrants in Olympia: 10 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Washington Trucking School LLC 6846 Martin Way E | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-14 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 360-900-4567 |
| Commercial Driver School 6800 Martin Way E | Theory · range · road | 2021-12-13 | $2,866 to $9,492 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 360-819-4841 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Washington's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Olympia
| School | City | Miles from Olympia | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Troops Into Transportation - Washington | Jblm, WA | 13 | 2024-04-04 | not posted |
| Clover Park Technical College | Lakewood, WA | 16 | 2026-08-13 | not posted |
| Commercial Driver School | Lakewood, WA | 16 | 2021-12-13 | $3,061 |
| Commercial Truck Driving Program | Tacoma, WA | 18 | 2022-02-01 | $1,985 |
| Tacoma Truck School LLC | Tacoma, WA | 18 | 2025-08-06 | not posted |
| Toro Trucking Academy | Tacoma, WA | 19 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| Olympic College of Shelton | Shelton, WA | 19 | 2024-06-12 | not posted |
| Drm CDL Training | Tacoma, WA | 20 | 2026-04-07 | $5,110 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Olympia's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Olympia
8 programs nearest Olympia posted tuition to Washington's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 25 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, Cement Mixer | Lacey, WA | 4 | $9,492 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Dump Truck Training | Lacey, WA | 4 | $3,561 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A and Bus Training | Lacey, WA | 4 | $8,992 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A Automated Truck Driver Training | Lacey, WA | 4 | $4,797 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | CDL Class A | Lacey, WA | 4 | $5,997 | $0 | 80% | 84% |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, HazMat | Lacey, WA | 4 | $6,779 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, Dump Truck | Lacey, WA | 4 | $8,792 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Emergency Vehicle | Lacey, WA | 4 | $3,061 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Washington fees: commercial learner permit $40, skills test $175, class a license (8 years) $156 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Olympia
A Washington workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Washington sites. Washington terms · all carriers
Check a Olympia school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 5 Olympia providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 72 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 56,724 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Olympia?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,985 to $12,287, median $5,110. With Washington's permit and license, about $5,306 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Olympia?
2 locations are registered in Olympia for Class A training, and 12 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Olympia school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Olympia
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Olympia. All Washington cities