Home / CDL schools / Washington / Lakewood
CDL schools in Lakewood, Washington
2 schools in Lakewood are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Lakewood on Washington's approved training list runs $1,800 to $12,287, with a $4,797 median across 42 programs. Truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area earn a median $71,240 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Washington training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Lakewood; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Washington permit ($40) and CDL ($156). Medical exam extra.
Lakewood training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area; 21,230 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Lakewood
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 4 active registrants in Lakewood: 4 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clover Park Technical College (2 sites) 4500 Steilacoom Blvd SW | Theory · range · road | 2026-08-13 | not posted | Class B | 253-589-5800 |
| Commercial Driver School 11000 34th Ave S | Theory · range · road | 2021-12-13 | $3,061 to $12,287 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 253-983-0200 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Washington's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Lakewood
| School | City | Miles from Lakewood | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Truck Driving Program | Tacoma, WA | 2 | 2022-02-01 | $1,985 |
| Tacoma Truck School LLC | Tacoma, WA | 3 | 2025-08-06 | not posted |
| Toro Trucking Academy | Tacoma, WA | 4 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| Drm CDL Training | Tacoma, WA | 4 | 2026-04-07 | $5,110 |
| Troops Into Transportation - Washington | Jblm, WA | 4 | 2024-04-04 | not posted |
| Eliteone Academy LLC | Tacoma, WA | 7 | 2025-08-18 | not posted |
| New Sound CDL School | Fife, WA | 9 | 2025-02-24 | not posted |
| National Standard Trucking School | Milton, WA | 9 | 2026-01-21 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Lakewood's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Lakewood
11 programs in Lakewood posted tuition to Washington's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 42 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Emergency Vehicle Training | $3,061 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | CDL Refresher | $3,086 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Passenger/School Bus | $3,551 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Cement Mixer Truck Training | $3,561 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A Automated Truck Driver Training | $4,797 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A CDL | $5,997 | $0 | 79% | 80% |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A, Hazmat Training | $6,779 | $0 | 79% | 85% |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A and Dump Truck | $8,792 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A,Cement Mixer Truck | $8,891 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A, Bus CDL | $9,592 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lakewood | Class A, Dump Truck and Cement Mixer Truck | $12,287 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Washington fees: commercial learner permit $40, skills test $175, class a license (8 years) $156 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Lakewood
A Washington workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Washington sites. Washington terms · all carriers
Check a Lakewood school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Lakewood provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 53 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 62,755 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Lakewood?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,800 to $12,287, median $4,797. With Washington's permit and license, about $4,993 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Lakewood?
2 locations are registered in Lakewood for Class A training, and 19 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Lakewood school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Lakewood
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Lakewood. All Washington cities