Home / CDL schools / Washington / Shelton
CDL schools in Shelton, Washington
1 school in Shelton is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Shelton on Washington's approved training list runs $2,866 to $9,492, with a $5,397 median across 10 programs. Truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Western Washington earn a median $62,540 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Washington training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Shelton; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Washington permit ($40) and CDL ($156). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Shelton.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Western Washington; 2,080 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Shelton
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in Shelton: 3 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Olympic College of Shelton 937 Alpine Way | Theory · range · road | 2024-06-12 | not posted | Class A only | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Washington's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Shelton
| School | City | Miles from Shelton | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Driver School | Olympia, WA | 19 | 2021-12-13 | $2,866 |
| Washington Trucking School LLC | Olympia, WA | 19 | 2026-01-14 | not posted |
| 3c's Train and Test LLC | Elma, WA | 22 | 2026-03-03 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Shelton's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Shelton
8 programs nearest Shelton posted tuition to Washington's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 10 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A Automated Truck Driver Training | Lacey, WA | 18 | $4,797 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, Dump Truck | Lacey, WA | 18 | $8,792 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Cement Mixer Training | Lacey, WA | 18 | $3,556 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Dump Truck Training | Lacey, WA | 18 | $3,561 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Emergency Vehicle | Lacey, WA | 18 | $3,061 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, HazMat | Lacey, WA | 18 | $6,779 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A and Bus Training | Lacey, WA | 18 | $8,992 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Lacey | Class A, Cement Mixer | Lacey, WA | 18 | $9,492 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Washington fees: commercial learner permit $40, skills test $175, class a license (8 years) $156 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Shelton
A Washington workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Washington sites. Washington terms · all carriers
Check a Shelton school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Shelton. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 21 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 10,921 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Shelton?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,866 to $9,492, median $5,397. With Washington's permit and license, about $5,593 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Shelton?
1 location is registered in Shelton for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Shelton school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Shelton
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Shelton. All Washington cities