Home / CDL schools / Texas / Alvin
CDL schools in Alvin, Texas
2 schools in Alvin are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Alvin on Texas's approved training list runs $3,945 to $7,522, with a $4,400 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX area earn a median $56,840 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Alvin; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
Alvin training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX area; 49,750 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Alvin
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in Alvin: 3 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LFS Elite Trucking Academy 120 Crouch St | Theory · range · road | 2023-07-06 | not posted | Class B | 281-824-4694 |
| A/vin Community College (2 sites) 3110 MustangRd | Theory · range · road | 2023-05-30 | $3,945 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 281-756-3819 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Alvin
| School | City | Miles from Alvin | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial Safety Academy | Houston, TX | 13 | 2024-12-23 | not posted |
| Sage Truck Driving Schools | Houston, TX | 17 | 2026-09-24 | not posted |
| FleetForce Truck Driver Training | Pasadena, TX | 19 | 2026-08-21 | not posted |
| San Jacinto College | Pasadena, TX | 19 | 2023-05-22 | not posted |
| Platinum Driving Academy at Angleton, TX | Angleton, TX | 20 | 2025-12-12 | not posted |
| Greedy Hauling Training Center | Pasadena, TX | 20 | 2023-04-27 | not posted |
| Break It Down CDL Training | Missouri City, TX | 21 | 2024-03-25 | not posted |
| Platinum Driving Academy Stafford | Missouri City, TX | 21 | 2026-01-12 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Alvin's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Alvin
5 programs nearest Alvin posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alvin Community College | Commercial Truck Driving Program | Alvin, TX | 0 | $3,945 | $180 | 85% | 75% |
| San Jacinto College District | Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 12WK Commercial Truck Driving | Pasadena, TX | 17 | $4,400 | $417 | not reported | not reported |
| San Jacinto College District | Professional Truck Driving One & Two - 6WK Commercial Truck Driving | Pasadena, TX | 17 | $7,522 | $417 | 100% | 68% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL Program | Houston, TX | 24 | $4,995 | $0 | 53% | 82% |
| Houston Community College District | Truck Driving | Houston, TX | 25 | $4,000 | $350 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Alvin
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a Alvin school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Alvin providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 54 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 30,115 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Alvin?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,945 to $7,522, median $4,400. With Texas's permit and license, about $4,522 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Alvin?
2 locations are registered in Alvin for Class A training, and 15 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Alvin school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Alvin
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Alvin. All Texas cities