Home / CDL schools / New Jersey / Plainfield
CDL schools in Plainfield, New Jersey
1 school in Plainfield is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Plainfield on New Jersey's approved training list runs $1,100 to $5,975, with a $3,875 median across 25 programs. Truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area earn a median $65,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · New Jersey training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Plainfield; none teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because New Jersey's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Plainfield.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area; 65,100 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Plainfield
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Plainfield: 1 is private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Express Driving School INC 430 Watchung Ave | Part of Class A | 2024-01-26 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 908-561-4600 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on New Jersey's training list.
Other registered schools in Plainfield
Class B, passenger or school bus only: A & P Driving School (Class B, Passenger, School bus).
Schools within 25 miles of Plainfield
| School | City | Miles from Plainfield | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Driving Academy LLC | Green Brook, NJ | 2 | 2023-01-13 | not posted |
| Jr Driving School LLC | Dunellen, NJ | 3 | 2024-10-16 | not posted |
| Mr. Driving School Inc (In Person) | Piscataway, NJ | 4 | 2025-02-06 | not posted |
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 2500 for CDL | Edison, NJ | 8 | 2026-03-26 | not posted |
| Smith & Solomon, Linden Campus | Linden, NJ | 9 | 2026-09-28 | not posted |
| Joachim Academy | Union, NJ | 9 | 2022-09-06 | not posted |
| Driving Academy - Linden NJ | Linden, NJ | 9 | 2026-09-29 | not posted |
| Winsor CDL Driving School | Linden, NJ | 10 | 2026-09-28 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Plainfield's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Plainfield
8 programs nearest Plainfield posted tuition to New Jersey's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 25 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ideal Driving School Inc. Fords | Advanced Straight Truck Training | Fords, NJ | 8 | $2,800 | $195 | not reported | not reported |
| Ideal Driving School Inc. Fords | CDL Class A Bus | Fords, NJ | 8 | $3,300 | $200 | not reported | not reported |
| Ideal Driving School Inc. Fords | CDL A Tractor Trailer | Fords, NJ | 8 | $3,500 | $200 | 64% | 55% |
| Smith Solomon Driver Training Linden | CDL A Tractor Trailer | Linden, NJ | 10 | $3,500 | $200 | 85% | 65% |
| Winsors Tractor Trailer Driving School | ADV CDL B Bus w Passenger | Linden, NJ | 10 | $2,800 | $280 | not reported | not reported |
| Winsors Tractor Trailer Driving School | BSC CDL Class A B with Passenger Endor | Linden, NJ | 10 | $4,200 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Smith Solomon Driver Training Linden | CDL B Passenger Bus | Linden, NJ | 10 | $3,050 | $500 | not reported | not reported |
| Smith Solomon Driver Training Linden | CDL A B Tractor Trailer Bus | Linden, NJ | 10 | $1,100 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
New Jersey fees: class a license (4 years) $42 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Plainfield
A New Jersey workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list New Jersey sites. New Jersey terms · all carriers
Check a Plainfield school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Plainfield. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 130 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 57,141 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Plainfield?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,100 to $5,975, median $3,875. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Plainfield?
1 location is registered in Plainfield for Class A training, and 21 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Plainfield school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Plainfield
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Plainfield. All New Jersey cities