Home / CDL schools / New Jersey / Paterson
CDL schools in Paterson, New Jersey
1 school in Paterson is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Paterson on New Jersey's approved training list runs $1,100 to $5,975, with a $3,875 median across 19 programs. Truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area earn a median $65,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · New Jersey training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Paterson; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because New Jersey's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Paterson training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area; 65,100 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Paterson
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 18 active registrants in Paterson: 8 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 10 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 school district or public school program, 3 employers and carriers training their own drivers and 6 bus or coach operators.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master Driving School 12 West Broadway, Paterson, NJ, USA, 12 West Broadway | Theory · range · road | 2022-02-10 | not posted | Passenger | 973-977-9926 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on New Jersey's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Paterson
| School | City | Miles from Paterson | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Driving Academy, Wayne NJ | Wayne, NJ | 6 | 2026-09-10 | not posted |
| Road Scholar Driving School | Bloomfield, NJ | 6 | 2026-01-12 | not posted |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | Lyndhurst, NJ | 9 | 2022-02-06 | $2,850 |
| Express Driving School INC | Harrison, NJ | 12 | 2022-01-31 | not posted |
| New Entry | Newark, NJ | 12 | 2025-04-25 | not posted |
| Fast-Pass Trucking Training | East Hanover, NJ | 14 | 2024-02-06 | not posted |
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 2500 for CDL | Newark, NJ | 14 | 2026-03-26 | not posted |
| Madame Driving School Corp. | Bronx, NY | 15 | 2025-07-19 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Paterson's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Paterson
8 programs nearest Paterson posted tuition to New Jersey's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 19 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Passaic | Adv CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Driving | Passaic, NJ | 6 | $3,999 | $125 | 100% | not reported |
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Passaic | Adv CDL B Pass Bus Driving Refresher | Passaic, NJ | 6 | $4,800 | $480 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | B Manual CDL | Lyndhurst, NJ | 9 | $2,875 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | A and B CDL Refresher Course | Lyndhurst, NJ | 9 | $2,850 | $20 | not reported | not reported |
| Jersey Tractor Trailer Training Inc. | CDL Class A Automatic | Lyndhurst, NJ | 9 | $3,875 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| North Avenue Driving School Newark | CDL a | Newark, NJ | 10 | $4,500 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City | Adv CDL Class A Tractor Trailer Driving | Union City, NJ | 13 | $3,999 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
| EZ Wheels Driving School Inc. Union City | CDL Class A Automatic Tractor Trailer | Union City, NJ | 13 | $3,875 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
New Jersey fees: class a license (4 years) $42 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Paterson
A New Jersey workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list New Jersey sites. New Jersey terms · all carriers
Check a Paterson school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 4 Paterson providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 626 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 161,793 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Paterson?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,100 to $5,975, median $3,875. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Paterson?
1 location is registered in Paterson for Class A training, and 28 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Paterson school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Paterson
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Paterson. All New Jersey cities