Home / CDL schools / Louisiana / New Orleans
CDL schools in New Orleans, Louisiana
2 schools in New Orleans are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of New Orleans on Louisiana's approved training list runs $5,000 to $10,000, with a $5,495 median across 7 programs. Truck drivers in the New Orleans-Metairie, LA area earn a median $51,540 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Louisiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in New Orleans; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Louisiana's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
New Orleans training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the New Orleans-Metairie, LA area; 5,500 work there.
Every registered Class A school in New Orleans
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 9 active registrants in New Orleans: 7 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 2 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 bus or coach operator and 1 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper's Defensive Driving School 10001 Lake Forest Blvd | Theory · range · road | 2024-04-04 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 504-931-3382 |
| Safe Road Truck Driving School 4480 General Degualle ste.101B | Theory · range · road | 2022-07-13 | $5,300 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 504-644-0338 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Louisiana's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of New Orleans
| School | City | Miles from New Orleans | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coastal Truck Driving School | Harvey, LA | 8 | 2024-01-18 | $5,495 |
| Cross Road CDL Academy LLC | Harvey, LA | 9 | 2022-01-24 | $5,400 |
| Delgado Community College | Avondale, LA | 13 | 2023-07-05 | $5,700 |
| Zee CDL helper LLC | Kenner, LA | 16 | 2026-04-27 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of New Orleans's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in New Orleans
3 programs in New Orleans posted tuition to Louisiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 7 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Security School | Commercial Truck Driving (Class A) Automatic Training Air Brake and Combination | $5,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Safe Road Trucking Driving School, LLC | CDL Class A | $5,300 | $700 | 90% | 68% |
| Delgado Community College | Commercial Driver's License Training Program | $5,700 | $0 | 100% | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Louisiana's permit and license fees are not confirmed on its DMV pages, so none are shown.
Free and company-paid training near New Orleans
A Louisiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Louisiana sites. Louisiana terms · all carriers
Check a New Orleans school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 8 New Orleans providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 222 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 362,154 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in New Orleans?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $5,000 to $10,000, median $5,495. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in New Orleans?
2 locations are registered in New Orleans for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a New Orleans school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near New Orleans
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from New Orleans. All Louisiana cities