Home / CDL schools / Washington / Renton
CDL schools in Renton, Washington
1 school in Renton is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Renton on Washington's approved training list runs $1,800 to $9,492, with a $4,375 median across 30 programs. Truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area earn a median $71,240 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Washington training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Renton; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Washington permit ($40) and CDL ($156). Medical exam extra.
Renton training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area; 21,230 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Renton
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 2 active registrants in Renton: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Seattle (2 sites) 1000 SW 7th St, Suite G | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-18 | $5,470 | Class B | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Washington's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Renton
| School | City | Miles from Renton | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OTL Driving School | Kent, WA | 4 | 2025-05-16 | not posted |
| Toro Trucking Academy | Kent, WA | 5 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| CDL Avenue | Kent, WA | 8 | 2026-05-11 | not posted |
| A Class Training | Auburn, WA | 9 | 2024-01-29 | $2,000 |
| Commercial Driver School | Auburn, WA | 10 | 2021-12-13 | not posted |
| National Standard Trucking School | Milton, WA | 16 | 2026-01-21 | not posted |
| New Sound CDL School | Fife, WA | 17 | 2025-02-24 | not posted |
| Eliteone Academy LLC | Tacoma, WA | 17 | 2025-08-18 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Renton's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Renton
8 programs nearest Renton posted tuition to Washington's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 30 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy/Renton | CDL Class A | Renton, WA | 0 | $5,470 | $0 | 69% | 89% |
| Fifth Wheel Commercial Driving School | Class A CDL | Kent, WA | 6 | $4,000 | $0 | 97% | 39% |
| South Seattle College | Industrial Vehicles Advanced | Seattle, WA | 7 | $3,111 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| OTL Truck Driving School, Inc | Class A | Auburn, WA | 11 | $1,800 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| A Class Training | Commercial Truck Driver Training | Auburn, WA | 11 | $2,000 | $0 | 100% | 68% |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Emergency Vehicle Training | Auburn, WA | 12 | $3,697 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Class C CDL | Auburn, WA | 12 | $4,797 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Dump Truck Training | Auburn, WA | 12 | $3,561 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Washington fees: commercial learner permit $40, skills test $175, class a license (8 years) $156 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Renton
A Washington workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Washington sites. Washington terms · all carriers
Check a Renton school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 4 Renton providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 215 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 104,975 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Renton?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,800 to $9,492, median $4,375. With Washington's permit and license, about $4,571 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Renton?
1 location is registered in Renton for Class A training, and 16 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Renton school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Renton
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Renton. All Washington cities