Home / CDL schools / Washington / Kent
CDL schools in Kent, Washington
3 schools in Kent are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Kent on Washington's approved training list runs $1,800 to $12,287, with a $4,675 median across 41 programs. Truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area earn a median $71,240 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Washington training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Kent; 3 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Washington permit ($40) and CDL ($156). Medical exam extra.
Kent training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 22 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA area; 21,230 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Kent
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 14 active registrants in Kent: 14 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Avenue 1720 Central Ave S | Theory · range · road | 2026-05-11 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 206-851-1111 |
| Toro Trucking Academy 8601 S 218th Street | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-09 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 253-444-3001 |
| OTL Driving School 20000 72nd Ave S | Theory · range · road | 2025-05-16 | not posted | Class A only | 206-766-0150 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Washington's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Kent
| School | City | Miles from Kent | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A Class Training | Auburn, WA | 4 | 2024-01-29 | $2,000 |
| Commercial Driver School | Auburn, WA | 5 | 2021-12-13 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Seattle | Renton, WA | 5 | 2026-09-18 | $5,470 |
| National Standard Trucking School | Milton, WA | 11 | 2026-01-21 | not posted |
| New Sound CDL School | Fife, WA | 12 | 2025-02-24 | not posted |
| Eliteone Academy LLC | Tacoma, WA | 13 | 2025-08-18 | not posted |
| Drm CDL Training | Tacoma, WA | 17 | 2026-04-07 | $5,110 |
| Commercial Truck Driving Program | Tacoma, WA | 18 | 2022-02-01 | $1,985 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Kent's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Kent
8 programs nearest Kent posted tuition to Washington's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 41 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fifth Wheel Commercial Driving School | Class A CDL | Kent, WA | 0 | $4,000 | $0 | 97% | 39% |
| 160 Driving Academy/Renton | CDL Class A | Renton, WA | 5 | $5,470 | $0 | 69% | 89% |
| A Class Training | Commercial Truck Driver Training | Auburn, WA | 6 | $2,000 | $0 | 100% | 68% |
| OTL Truck Driving School, Inc | Class A | Auburn, WA | 6 | $1,800 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Class C CDL | Auburn, WA | 7 | $4,797 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Class A, Bus Training | Auburn, WA | 7 | $7,851 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Class A CDL | Auburn, WA | 7 | $5,997 | $0 | 85% | 88% |
| Commercial Driver School/Auburn | Class A and Cement Mixer Truck Training | Auburn, WA | 7 | $9,479 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Washington fees: commercial learner permit $40, skills test $175, class a license (8 years) $156 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Kent
A Washington workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Washington sites. Washington terms · all carriers
Check a Kent school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 23 Kent providers from the registry, 22 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 855 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 134,871 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Kent?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,800 to $12,287, median $4,675. With Washington's permit and license, about $4,871 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Kent?
3 locations are registered in Kent for Class A training, and 17 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Kent school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Kent
Also within 35 miles: Auburn, WA (2); Renton, WA (1); Milton, WA (1); Fife, WA (1); Lakewood, WA (2); Port Orchard, WA (1); Jblm, WA (1). All Washington cities