Home / CDL schools / Texas / McAllen
CDL schools in McAllen, Texas
5 schools in McAllen are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of McAllen on Texas's approved training list runs $2,021 to $11,500, with a $4,450 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area earn a median $47,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in McAllen; 4 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
McAllen training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area; 4,390 work there.
Every registered Class A school in McAllen
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 3 active registrants in McAllen: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute McAllen (2 sites) 1800 South Main, Suite 500 | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-30 | $3,500 | Class A only | 866-937-1850 |
| Revival CDL Training 8509 S 10th St | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-31 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 956-638-8092 |
| South Texas College - Technology Campus 3700 W. Military Hwy | Theory · range · road | 2025-10-21 | $2,021 to $3,822 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 956-872-2738 |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center, LLC 2203 N. 23rd St. | Theory · range · road | 2025-03-10 | $4,500 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 956-627-6005 |
| CDL Tutorial Center (2 sites) 322 N Bicentennial Blvd. suite D | Part of Class A | 2022-02-08 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 956-789-7762 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of McAllen
| School | City | Miles from McAllen | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Careers Institute | Pharr, TX | 3 | 2026-03-03 | not posted |
| South Texas College - Ballew Campus | Pharr, TX | 5 | 2025-10-21 | not posted |
| RST Driving School | Mission, TX | 6 | 2026-05-28 | not posted |
| Hammer Down CDL School | Edinburg, TX | 7 | 2025-12-03 | not posted |
| CDL Training (LHCT Alamo) | Alamo, TX | 9 | 2026-03-02 | $9,420 |
| CDL Tutorial Center LLC | Edinburg, TX | 10 | 2022-08-05 | not posted |
| South Texas College - Mid-Valley Campus | Weslaco, TX | 15 | 2025-10-21 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of McAllen's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in McAllen
4 programs in McAllen posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Texas College | Transit Bus Driver | $2,021 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | $3,500 | $0 | 91% | 68% |
| South Texas College | Professional Truck Driving | $3,822 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center LLC | Class A CDL Training Program | $4,500 | $0 | 100% | 55% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near McAllen
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a McAllen school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 McAllen providers from the registry. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 413 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 150,640 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in McAllen?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,021 to $11,500, median $4,450. With Texas's permit and license, about $4,572 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in McAllen?
5 locations are registered in McAllen for Class A training, and 12 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a McAllen school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near McAllen
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Pharr, TX (2); Mission, TX (1); Edinburg, TX (2); Alamo, TX (1); Weslaco, TX (1). All Texas cities