Home / CDL schools / Texas / Alamo
CDL schools in Alamo, Texas
1 school in Alamo is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Alamo on Texas's approved training list runs $2,021 to $11,500, with a $4,450 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area earn a median $47,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Alamo; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
Alamo training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area; 4,390 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Alamo
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out no active registrants in Alamo.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Training (LHCT Alamo) 328 E Frontage | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-02 | $9,420 | Class A only | 956-782-0070 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Alamo
| School | City | Miles from Alamo | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Texas College - Ballew Campus | Pharr, TX | 4 | 2025-10-21 | not posted |
| Hammer Down CDL School | Edinburg, TX | 6 | 2025-12-03 | not posted |
| Southern Careers Institute | Pharr, TX | 6 | 2026-03-03 | not posted |
| South Texas College - Mid-Valley Campus | Weslaco, TX | 7 | 2025-10-21 | not posted |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute McAllen | McAllen, TX | 8 | 2026-09-30 | $3,500 |
| CDL Tutorial Center | McAllen, TX | 8 | 2022-02-08 | not posted |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center, LLC | McAllen, TX | 9 | 2025-03-10 | $4,500 |
| CDL Tutorial Center LLC | Edinburg, TX | 9 | 2022-08-05 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Alamo's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Alamo
8 programs nearest Alamo posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LHCT Training Center | Basic Truck Driver Training | Alamo, TX | 0 | $9,420 | $375 | 71% | 67% |
| One Stop CDL Driver Training LLC | Professional Truck Driving | Mcallen, Tx | 8 | $3,950 | $50 | 86% | not reported |
| South Texas College | Transit Bus Driver | Mcallen, TX | 8 | $2,021 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center LLC | Class A CDL Training Program | Mcallen, TX | 8 | $4,500 | $0 | 100% | 55% |
| South Texas College | Professional Truck Driving | Mcallen, TX | 8 | $3,822 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | Mcallen, TX | 9 | $3,500 | $0 | 91% | 68% |
| Southern Industrial Careers Center | Professional Truck Driver | La Feria, TX | 11 | $5,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| The Hook-up Barber University | Class A Barber 1000 | Mission, TX | 13 | $11,500 | $1,500 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Alamo
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a Alamo school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Alamo provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 79 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 20,625 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Alamo?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,021 to $11,500, median $4,450. With Texas's permit and license, about $4,572 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Alamo?
1 location is registered in Alamo for Class A training, and 12 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Alamo school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Alamo
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Alamo. All Texas cities