Home / CDL schools / Texas / Edinburg
CDL schools in Edinburg, Texas
2 schools in Edinburg are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Edinburg on Texas's approved training list runs $2,021 to $11,500, with a $4,450 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area earn a median $47,040 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Edinburg; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
Edinburg training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the McAllen-Edinburg-Mission, TX area; 4,390 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Edinburg
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Edinburg: 1 is private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hammer Down CDL School 5524 S. Hwy 281 | Theory · range · road | 2025-12-03 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 956-701-9560 |
| CDL Tutorial Center LLC 1018 N Closner Blvd | Part of Class A | 2022-08-05 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus | 956-789-7762 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Edinburg
| School | City | Miles from Edinburg | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Careers Institute | Pharr, TX | 5 | 2026-03-03 | not posted |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center, LLC | McAllen, TX | 6 | 2025-03-10 | $4,500 |
| South Texas College - Ballew Campus | Pharr, TX | 6 | 2025-10-21 | not posted |
| CDL Tutorial Center | McAllen, TX | 7 | 2022-02-08 | not posted |
| CDL Training (LHCT Alamo) | Alamo, TX | 7 | 2026-03-02 | $9,420 |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute McAllen | McAllen, TX | 8 | 2026-09-30 | $3,500 |
| RST Driving School | Mission, TX | 10 | 2026-05-28 | not posted |
| South Texas College - Technology Campus | McAllen, TX | 11 | 2025-10-21 | $2,021 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Edinburg's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Edinburg
8 programs nearest Edinburg posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Southern Industrial Careers Center | Professional Truck Driver | La Feria, TX | 6 | $5,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| One Stop CDL Driver Training LLC | Professional Truck Driving | Mcallen, Tx | 6 | $3,950 | $50 | 86% | not reported |
| South Texas College | Transit Bus Driver | Mcallen, TX | 6 | $2,021 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| A-Plus CDL Training Center LLC | Class A CDL Training Program | Mcallen, TX | 6 | $4,500 | $0 | 100% | 55% |
| South Texas College | Professional Truck Driving | Mcallen, TX | 6 | $3,822 | $105 | not reported | not reported |
| LHCT Training Center | Basic Truck Driver Training | Alamo, TX | 8 | $9,420 | $375 | 71% | 67% |
| South Texas Vocational Technical Institute-McAllen | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | Mcallen, TX | 10 | $3,500 | $0 | 91% | 68% |
| Texas CDL Institute LLC | Professional Truck Driver | Mission, TX | 10 | $4,450 | $0 | 99% | 27% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Edinburg
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a Edinburg school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Edinburg providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 521 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 110,700 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Edinburg?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,021 to $11,500, median $4,450. With Texas's permit and license, about $4,572 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Edinburg?
2 locations are registered in Edinburg for Class A training, and 12 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Edinburg school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Edinburg
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Edinburg. All Texas cities