Home / CDL schools / Tennessee / Memphis
CDL schools in Memphis, Tennessee
8 schools in Memphis are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Memphis on Tennessee's approved training list runs $1,536 to $7,495, with a $4,596 median across 13 programs. Truck drivers in the Memphis, TN-MS-AR area earn a median $63,070 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Tennessee training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Memphis; 7 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Tennessee permit ($14) and CDL ($70). Medical exam extra.
Memphis training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Memphis, TN-MS-AR area; 19,460 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Memphis
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 36 active registrants in Memphis: 35 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee College of Applied Technology Memphis 550 Alabama Avenue | Theory · range · road | 2026-10-01 | $1,536 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | not listed |
| 160 Driving Academy (2 sites) 6747 E Shelby Road | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-18 | $4,995 | Hazmat | not listed |
| Mid-South Trucking Academy LLC. (2 sites) 3845 Viscount suite 105 | Theory · range · road | 2026-06-12 | not posted | Class B | 901-569-1902 |
| ELDT Solutions - Memphis, TN | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-15 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 319-573-7056 |
| C.E.J. Driving Academy LLC 4143 Willow Lake Blvd | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-09 | not posted | Class B | not listed |
| Xcelente Trucking & Logistics LLC. | Part of Class A | 2025-11-19 | $5,500 | Class B, Hazmat | 901-713-8362 |
| Class A Driving Academy 3739 South Hickory Ridge Mall Suite 490 | Theory · range · road | 2024-04-24 | $5,700 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 901-443-5457 |
| Gray Eagle Driving Academy (2 sites) 1164 Morehead St | Theory · range · road | 2024-01-16 | $4,935 | Hazmat | 901-467-5440 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Tennessee's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Memphis
| School | City | Miles from Memphis | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Right Turn Driving Academy LLC | Southaven, MS | 6 | 2025-08-12 | not posted |
| Rebound Vocational Services LLC | Southaven, MS | 8 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| Delta Technical College - Horn Lake, MS | Horn Lake, MS | 9 | 2026-01-06 | $4,411 |
| Northwest Mississippi Community College | Olive Branch, MS | 12 | 2025-09-29 | $2,800 |
| R&J Elite CDL Training | Olive Branch, MS | 12 | 2025-03-12 | $3,000 |
| Arkansas State University Mid-South | West Memphis, AR | 15 | 2025-07-16 | $3,289 |
| 901 CDL School | Eads, TN | 19 | 2025-03-26 | not posted |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (MIL) | Millington, TN | 20 | 2025-12-26 | $7,495 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Memphis's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Memphis
8 programs in Memphis posted tuition to Tennessee's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 13 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Memphis | Truck Driving | $1,536 | $351 | 90% | 88% |
| Drive Train-Memphis | Federal Theory and behind the wheel training for Commercial Driver License | $3,995 | $50 | 88% | 74% |
| Olympic Career Training Institute | CDL Truck Driving Training | $4,596 | $400 | 82% | 60% |
| Gray Eagle Driving Academy | Gray Eagle Driving Academy | $4,935 | $65 | 100% | 85% |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL Program | $4,995 | $0 | 81% | 85% |
| Xcelente Trucking & Logistics LLC. | Commerical Driver License Program = Class A CDL Program | $5,500 | $350 | not reported | not reported |
| Class A Driving Academy | Class A CDL Program | $5,700 | $0 | 95% | 79% |
| Future Truck Drivers of America, LLC | CDL Training | $6,500 | $192 | 97% | 86% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Tennessee fees: commercial learner permit $14, class a license (8 years) $70 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Memphis
A Tennessee workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Tennessee sites. Tennessee terms · all carriers
Check a Memphis school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 17 Memphis providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,472 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 609,647 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Memphis?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,536 to $7,495, median $4,596. With Tennessee's permit and license, about $4,680 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Memphis?
8 locations are registered in Memphis for Class A training, and 16 are within 25 miles of the city. 5 updated their registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Memphis school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Memphis
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Southaven, MS (2); Horn Lake, MS (1); Olive Branch, MS (2); West Memphis, AR (1); Eads, TN (1); Millington, TN (1); Tunica, MS (1). All Tennessee cities