Home / CDL schools / Missouri / Kansas City
CDL schools in Kansas City, Missouri
2 schools in Kansas City are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Kansas City on Missouri's approved training list runs $3,350 to $7,695, with a $5,250 median across 18 programs. Truck drivers in the Kansas City, MO-KS area earn a median $60,170 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Missouri training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Kansas City; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Missouri permit ($44) and CDL ($40). Medical exam extra.
Kansas City training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Kansas City, MO-KS area; 18,230 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Kansas City
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 43 active registrants in Kansas City: 39 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 4 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers and 3 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20Twenty Training Center 7546 Troost Ave | Theory · range · road | 2026-03-25 | not posted | Class B | not listed |
| Zeta Commercial Driving School 3201 E 85th St | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-23 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 405-938-2235 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Missouri's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Kansas City
| School | City | Miles from Kansas City | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dlts | Leawood, KS | 5 | 2026-05-29 | not posted |
| Kingdom Trucking Academy LLC. | Overland Park, KS | 7 | 2026-03-23 | not posted |
| Ares CDL Institute | Kansas City, KS | 9 | 2025-05-07 | not posted |
| CDL Pros | Independence, MO | 12 | 2023-02-27 | not posted |
| CDL Ready, Inc | Lee'S Summit, MO | 12 | 2024-05-03 | not posted |
| Apex CDL Institute | Kansas City, KS | 13 | 2022-01-11 | $6,000 |
| MCC - Blue River Campus | Independence, MO | 14 | 2024-06-06 | not posted |
| Zeta Driving School | Lenexa, KS | 16 | 2024-06-14 | $4,990 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Kansas City's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Kansas City
6 programs in Kansas City posted tuition to Missouri's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 18 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Topeka | $4,000 | $0 | 93% | 96% |
| Empowering Empires LLC | Kings And Queens Class A CDL Course | $4,520 | $300 | 100% | not reported |
| 160 Driving Academy | Class A CDL Truck Driving Program - Kansas City KS | $4,950 | $0 | 90% | 92% |
| 160 Driving Academy - Kansas City MO | Springfield Mo Class A CDL Training | $4,950 | $77 | 74% | 70% |
| Metropolitan Community College, Workforce Develop | Truck Driver CDL - A | $5,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| New Reflections Technical Institute | Commercial Drivers License | $5,500 | $434 | 67% | 74% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Missouri fees: commercial learner permit $44, skills test $25, class a license $40 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Kansas City
A Missouri workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Missouri sites. Missouri terms · all carriers
Check a Kansas City school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 10 Kansas City providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,119 for-hire trucking companies are based here.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Kansas City?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,350 to $7,695, median $5,250. With Missouri's permit and license, about $5,334 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Kansas City?
2 locations are registered in Kansas City for Class A training, and 11 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Kansas City school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Kansas City
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Leawood, KS (1); Overland Park, KS (1); Kansas City, KS (2); Lee'S Summit, MO (1); Independence, MO (2); Lenexa, KS (1); Gardner, KS (1). All Missouri cities