Home / CDL schools / Missouri / Independence
CDL schools in Independence, Missouri
2 schools in Independence are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Independence on Missouri's approved training list runs $3,350 to $7,695, with a $5,500 median across 17 programs. Truck drivers in the Kansas City, MO-KS area earn a median $60,170 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Missouri training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Independence; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Missouri permit ($44) and CDL ($40). Medical exam extra.
Independence training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Kansas City, MO-KS area; 18,230 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Independence
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 6 active registrants in Independence: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCC - Blue River Campus 21227 East 78 Highway | Theory · range · road | 2024-06-06 | not posted | Class B, Passenger | 816-604-1000 |
| CDL Pros 16700 E Gudgell Rd | Theory · range · road | 2023-02-27 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 816-918-5620 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Missouri's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Independence
| School | City | Miles from Independence | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Ready, Inc | Lee'S Summit, MO | 12 | 2024-05-03 | not posted |
| Zeta Commercial Driving School | Kansas City, MO | 13 | 2026-01-23 | not posted |
| 20Twenty Training Center | Kansas City, MO | 13 | 2026-03-25 | not posted |
| Ares CDL Institute | Kansas City, KS | 15 | 2025-05-07 | not posted |
| Dlts | Leawood, KS | 18 | 2026-05-29 | not posted |
| Kingdom Trucking Academy LLC. | Overland Park, KS | 20 | 2026-03-23 | not posted |
| Apex CDL Institute | Kansas City, KS | 20 | 2022-01-11 | $6,000 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Independence's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Independence
3 programs in Independence posted tuition to Missouri's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 17 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Pros 1, LLC | 1 Week CDL Training Course | $3,350 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Pros 1, LLC | 2 Week CDL Training Course | $4,200 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Pros 1, LLC | 4 Week CDL Training Course | $6,950 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Missouri fees: commercial learner permit $44, skills test $25, class a license $40 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Independence
A Missouri workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Missouri sites. Missouri terms · all carriers
Check a Independence school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Independence providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 158 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 121,675 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Independence?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,350 to $7,695, median $5,500. With Missouri's permit and license, about $5,584 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Independence?
2 locations are registered in Independence for Class A training, and 9 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Independence school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Independence
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Independence. All Missouri cities