Home / CDL schools / Florida / Tampa
CDL schools in Tampa, Florida
3 schools in Tampa are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Tampa on Florida's approved training list runs $3,331 to $6,995, with a $6,000 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL area earn a median $50,560 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Florida training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Tampa; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Florida's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Tampa training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 30 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL area; 15,840 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Tampa
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 21 active registrants in Tampa: 21 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tampa Truck Driving School 4710 E Broadway Ave | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-02 | $6,000 to $6,150 | Class B | 813-405-0055 |
| 1ST Class CDL Truck Training 4710 E Broadway Ave | Theory · range · road | 2026-04-23 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 813-374-9120 |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (TPA) 5025 Orient Road | Part of Class A | 2026-04-23 | $6,995 | Class A only | 800-831-1300 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Florida's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Tampa
| School | City | Miles from Tampa | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mister CDL Inc | Thonotosassa, FL | 7 | 2025-02-20 | not posted |
| CFI Truck Driving School | Thonotosassa, FL | 8 | 2026-03-04 | not posted |
| Sage Truck Driving Schools | Plant City, FL | 18 | 2026-09-24 | not posted |
| Central Florida CDL School | Plant City, FL | 18 | 2026-07-15 | not posted |
| Commercial Vehicle Driving Program - PTC | St. Petersburg, FL | 23 | 2024-11-06 | $3,331 |
| Champion Truck Driving School | Largo, FL | 24 | 2026-07-09 | $5,200 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Tampa's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Tampa
7 programs in Tampa posted tuition to Florida's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hillsborough Community College-Polk | CDL Truck Driver Training | $4,595 | $155 | 98% | 80% |
| Hillsborough Community College | Commercial Vehicle Driving (Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers) | $4,895 | $555 | 91% | 75% |
| Tampa Truck Driving School | Class A CDL Training | $6,000 | $0 | 91% | 49% |
| Tampa Truck Driving School | CDL A - Truck Driver Training | $6,150 | $0 | 91% | 44% |
| Tampa Truck Driving School - Polk | Class A CDL Training | $6,371 | $0 | 97% | 86% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School - (Polk) | Commercial Truck Driver Training | $6,995 | $150 | not reported | not reported |
| Roadmaster Drivers School, Inc.-Is | Commercial Truck Driver Training | $6,995 | $568 | 91% | 45% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Florida fees: class a license $75 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Tampa
A Florida workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Florida sites. Florida terms · all carriers
Check a Tampa school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 31 Tampa providers from the registry, 30 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,253 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 413,554 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Tampa?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,331 to $6,995, median $6,000. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Tampa?
3 locations are registered in Tampa for Class A training, and 9 are within 25 miles of the city. 3 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Tampa school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Tampa
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Tampa. All Florida cities