Home / CDL schools / Delaware / Wilmington
CDL schools in Wilmington, Delaware
2 schools in Wilmington are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Wilmington on Delaware's approved training list runs $3,000 to $6,300, with a $4,423 median across 4 programs. Truck drivers in the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD area earn a median $59,370 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Delaware training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Wilmington; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Delaware permit ($5) and CDL ($55). Medical exam extra.
Wilmington training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD area; 32,220 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Wilmington
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Wilmington: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Driving Academy, Wilmington DE 1300 E 8th St | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-10 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus | 302-595-9777 |
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 1500 for CDL (2 sites) | Part of Class A | 2026-04-06 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 609-666-4907 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Delaware's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Wilmington
| School | City | Miles from Wilmington | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superior Driving School | Toms River, NJ | 3 | 2022-01-11 | not posted |
| Driving Academy | Jackson Township, NJ | 3 | 2025-04-11 | not posted |
| Superior Driving School | Forked River, NJ | 8 | 2022-01-11 | not posted |
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 1500 for CDL | Jackson Township, NJ | 12 | 2025-12-09 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Brookdale | Freehold, NJ | 16 | 2026-09-09 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Brookdale | Lincroft, NJ | 22 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Wilmington's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Wilmington
4 programs nearest Wilmington posted tuition to Delaware's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 4 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superior Tractor Trailer Training Toms River | Tractor Trailer Advanced Class A WForkl | Toms River, NJ | 2 | $6,300 | $200 | 86% | 66% |
| Superior Tractor Trailer Training Toms River | CDL Class A Refresher 160 Hour | Toms River, NJ | 2 | $5,000 | $200 | not reported | not reported |
| Superior Tractor Trailer Training Toms River | CDL Class A Refresher 80 Hour | Toms River, NJ | 2 | $3,000 | $200 | not reported | not reported |
| Smith Solomon Driver Training Lakewood | CDLA Tractor Trailer | Lakewood, NJ | 5 | $3,845 | $155 | 92% | 61% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Delaware fees: commercial learner permit $5, class a license (8 years) $55 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Wilmington
A Delaware workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Delaware sites. Delaware terms · all carriers
Check a Wilmington school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Wilmington providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 341 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 73,512 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Wilmington?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,000 to $6,300, median $4,423. With Delaware's permit and license, about $4,483 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Wilmington?
2 locations are registered in Wilmington for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Wilmington school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Wilmington
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Wilmington. All Delaware cities