Home / CDL schools / California / Downey
CDL schools in Downey, California
2 schools in Downey are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Downey on California's approved training list runs $3,520 to $9,601, with a $5,800 median across 11 programs. Truck drivers in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA area earn a median $60,340 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · California training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Downey; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because California's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Downey training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA area; 61,270 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Downey
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 4 active registrants in Downey: 3 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DTS Technical Inc 9701 S Bluff Rd | Part of Class A | 2026-01-12 | not posted | Class B, Passenger | 323-728-2460 |
| TGA Truck Driving School (2 sites) 10727 Paramount Blvd | Theory · range · road | 2025-12-08 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 323-797-1841 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on California's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Downey
| School | City | Miles from Downey | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simmons Trucking School INC | Bell Gardens, CA | 1 | 2022-07-13 | not posted |
| DTS Technical Inc. | Vernon, CA | 6 | 2026-01-12 | not posted |
| Numero Uno Trucking Training | Los Angeles, CA | 7 | 2023-05-18 | not posted |
| Chosen 2 Trucking | Long Beach, CA | 7 | 2026-08-10 | not posted |
| Los Angeles Trucking College | Los Angeles, CA | 7 | 2026-09-09 | not posted |
| Aztlan Trucking School | Los Angeles, CA | 7 | 2022-05-04 | not posted |
| GSF Driving & Truck Training School | Los Angeles, CA | 8 | 2021-07-06 | not posted |
| Toro School of Truck Driving | Gardena, CA | 8 | 2022-02-04 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Downey's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Downey
8 programs nearest Downey posted tuition to California's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 11 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Transportation Guidance and Assistance Truck Driving School | Professional Truck-Driver Training Program | Montebello, CA | 5 | $5,448 | $548 | 77% | 70% |
| Dolphin Trucking School | Commercial Drivers Training - Class A | Los Angeles, CA | 5 | $5,544 | $537 | 74% | 64% |
| College of Instrument Technology | HED105: Truck Driver + Bus | Bellflower, CA | 5 | $9,601 | $398 | 75% | 78% |
| College of Instrument Technology | HED100: Truck Driver Operator Class A | Bellflower, CA | 5 | $7,101 | $398 | 92% | 94% |
| Compton Adult School | Truck Driving | Compton, CA | 8 | $6,195 | $800 | 86% | 66% |
| Geftid International Foundation | Geftid Apprenticeship Program | Los Angeles, CA | 9 | $6,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Camino Real Career School | Class A and B (Tractor-Trailer/Bus) | La Puente, CA | 11 | $3,940 | $1,105 | 83% | 79% |
| Camino Real Career School | Class A Tractor-Trailer Course | La Puente, CA | 11 | $3,520 | $953 | 87% | 86% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
California fees: class a license $100 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Downey
A California workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list California sites. California terms · all carriers
Check a Downey school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Downey provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 278 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 108,468 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Downey?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,520 to $9,601, median $5,800. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Downey?
2 locations are registered in Downey for Class A training, and 30 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Downey school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Downey
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Downey. All California cities