Home / CDL schools / Virginia / Galax
CDL schools in Galax, Virginia
1 school in Galax is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Galax on Virginia's approved training list runs $1,881 to $4,345, with a $3,113 median across 2 programs. Truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Southwest Virginia earn a median $49,630 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Virginia training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Galax; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Virginia permit ($3) and CDL ($64). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Galax.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Southwest Virginia; 1,990 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Galax
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Galax: 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wytheville Community College 1117 East Stuart Drive | Theory · range · road | 2024-10-28 | $4,345 | Class B | 276-223-4717 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Virginia's training list.
What CDL school costs in Galax
2 programs nearest Galax posted tuition to Virginia's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 2 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wytheville Community College | Truck Driver/CDL Non-Credit | Wytheville, VA | 21 | $4,345 | $155 | 98% | 57% |
| Surry Community College | Truck Driver Training | Dobson, NC | 22 | $1,881 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Virginia fees: commercial learner permit $3, class a license (8 years) $64 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Galax
A Virginia workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Virginia sites. Virginia terms · all carriers
Check a Galax school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Galax. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 25 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 6,670 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Galax?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,881 to $4,345, median $3,113. With Virginia's permit and license, about $3,180 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Galax?
1 location is registered in Galax for Class A training, and 1 is within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Galax school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Galax
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Galax. All Virginia cities