Home / CDL schools / Virginia / Ashland
CDL schools in Ashland, Virginia
1 school in Ashland is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Ashland on Virginia's approved training list runs $3,000 to $6,000, with a $3,995 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Richmond, VA area earn a median $58,190 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Virginia training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Ashland; none teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Virginia permit ($3) and CDL ($64). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Ashland.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Richmond, VA area; 11,760 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Ashland
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 4 active registrants in Ashland: 4 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Richmond 10985 Leadbetter Rd A | Part of Class A | 2026-09-18 | not posted | Class A only | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Virginia's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Ashland
| School | City | Miles from Ashland | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ancora for Mid- Atlantic Richmond, VA | Richmond, VA | 5 | 2026-09-30 | not posted |
| 5 Star CDL Training LLC | Richmond, VA | 12 | 2024-11-26 | $3,600 |
| 160 Driving Academy - Richmond | Midlothian, VA | 16 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| Cds Tractor Trailer Training | Chester, VA | 23 | 2026-05-11 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Ashland's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Ashland
5 programs nearest Ashland posted tuition to Virginia's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 Star CDL Training LLC. | CDL Training Class A | Richmond, VA | 14 | $3,600 | $350 | not reported | not reported |
| 5 Star CDL Training LLC. | 5 Star CDL Training LLC. | Richmond, VA | 14 | $4,495 | $255 | 80% | 86% |
| Community College Workforce Alliance | Truck Driver | Midlothian, VA | 19 | $6,000 | $0 | 95% | 63% |
| TJ and Friends Smith System CDL Training LLC | Class A CDL Training | Midlothian, VA | 22 | $3,000 | $600 | 88% | 88% |
| Shippers' Choice of Virginia, Inc | Tractor Trailer Driver Training (Class A CDL) | Chester, VA | 25 | $3,995 | $110 | 93% | 83% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Virginia fees: commercial learner permit $3, class a license (8 years) $64 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Ashland
A Virginia workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Virginia sites. Virginia terms · all carriers
Check a Ashland school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Ashland. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 41 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 7,982 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Ashland?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,000 to $6,000, median $3,995. With Virginia's permit and license, about $4,062 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Ashland?
1 location is registered in Ashland for Class A training, and 5 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Ashland school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Ashland
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Ashland. All Virginia cities