Home / CDL schools / Virginia / Richmond

CDL schools in Richmond, Virginia

2 schools in Richmond are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Richmond on Virginia's approved training list runs $3,000 to $6,000, with a $3,995 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Richmond, VA area earn a median $58,190 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Virginia training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

2

Class A schools open to the public in Richmond; 2 teach theory, range and road.

$4,062

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Virginia permit ($3) and CDL ($64). Medical exam extra.

12

Richmond training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.

$58,190

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Richmond, VA area; 11,760 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Richmond

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 20 active registrants in Richmond: 20 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
Ancora for Mid- Atlantic Richmond, VA (2 sites)
1651 E Parham Rd
Theory · range · road 2026-09-30 not posted Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat 866-937-1850
5 Star CDL Training LLC
601 Commerce Rd
Theory · range · road 2024-11-26 $3,600 to $4,495 Class B, Passenger, Hazmat 804-447-7076

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Virginia's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of Richmond

SchoolCityMiles from RichmondRegistry updatedPosted tuition
160 Driving Academy - RichmondAshland, VA82026-09-18not posted
160 Driving Academy - RichmondMidlothian, VA102026-09-18not posted
Cds Tractor Trailer TrainingChester, VA152026-05-11not posted

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Richmond's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Richmond

2 programs in Richmond posted tuition to Virginia's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
5 Star CDL Training LLC. CDL Training Class A $3,600 $350 not reported not reported
5 Star CDL Training LLC. 5 Star CDL Training LLC. $4,495 $255 80% 86%

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

Virginia fees: commercial learner permit $3, class a license (8 years) $64 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Richmond

A Virginia workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Virginia sites. Virginia terms · all carriers

Check a Richmond school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 12 Richmond providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 518 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 237,257 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Richmond?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,000 to $6,000, median $3,995. With Virginia's permit and license, about $4,062 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Richmond?

2 locations are registered in Richmond for Class A training, and 5 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Richmond school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Richmond

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Richmond. All Virginia cities