Home / CDL schools / Texas / Katy
CDL schools in Katy, Texas
2 schools in Katy are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Katy on Texas's approved training list runs $4,000 to $5,882, with a $4,675 median across 8 programs. Truck drivers in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX area earn a median $56,840 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Texas training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Katy; none teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Texas permit ($25) and CDL ($97). Medical exam extra.
Katy training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 6 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX area; 49,750 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Katy
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Katy: 4 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Class CDL Training Academy LLC 5901 N Fry Rd | Part of Class A | 2026-05-26 | not posted | Class B | 512-627-2005 |
| PAN AMERICA Trucking Academy 25600 Westheimer Pkwy | Part of Class A | 2023-01-31 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Texas's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Katy
| School | City | Miles from Katy | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Houston Trade Institute LLC | Houston, TX | 11 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| AAA CDL School | Houston, TX | 13 | 2024-12-05 | not posted |
| PrimeLine CDL Academy | Houston, TX | 14 | 2025-12-16 | not posted |
| King CDL Academy | Houston, TX | 15 | 2024-09-12 | not posted |
| Kindle Trucking School | Houston, TX | 15 | 2026-08-07 | $4,850 |
| Alpha Trucking Academy LLC | Houston, TX | 15 | 2026-03-02 | not posted |
| Greenlight CDL School LLC | Houston, TX | 16 | 2023-12-07 | not posted |
| First Class CDL Training Academy LLC | Houston, TX | 16 | 2026-05-26 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Katy's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Katy
8 programs nearest Katy posted tuition to Texas's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 8 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle Trucking School | Truck Driver Training - CDL | Houston, TX | 16 | $4,850 | $400 | 99% | 49% |
| Texas State Technical College Fort Bend | Professional Truck Driving Certification | Rosenberg, TX | 18 | $4,500 | $0 | 97% | 72% |
| Worktexas | Commercial Truck Driver | Houston, TX | 23 | $5,800 | $200 | not reported | not reported |
| Houston Community College District | Truck Driving | Houston, TX | 24 | $4,000 | $350 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC | CDL Class a Training | Houston, TX | 24 | $4,500 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| East End Driving and Placement Service | East End Driving and Placement Service | Houston, TX | 24 | $5,218 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Emerald Logistics Training Services LLC | ELDT Behind the Wheel Range Road | Houston, TX | 24 | $4,300 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Dignity Professional Training Centers Inc | Commercial Vehicle Operator | Houston, TX | 24 | $5,882 | $0 | 93% | 36% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Texas fees: commercial learner permit $25, class a license (8 years) $97 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Katy
A Texas workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Texas sites. Texas terms · all carriers
Check a Katy school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 7 Katy providers from the registry, 6 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,307 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 28,373 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Katy?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,000 to $5,882, median $4,675. With Texas's permit and license, about $4,797 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Katy?
2 locations are registered in Katy for Class A training, and 27 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Katy school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Katy
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Katy. All Texas cities