Home / CDL schools / Rhode Island / Johnston
CDL schools in Johnston, Rhode Island
1 school in Johnston is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Johnston on Rhode Island's approved training list runs $5,400 to $12,395, with a $6,448 median across 10 programs. Truck drivers in the Providence-Warwick, RI-MA area earn a median $60,610 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Rhode Island training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Johnston; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Rhode Island's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Johnston.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Providence-Warwick, RI-MA area; 7,030 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Johnston
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Johnston: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International CDL LLC 2227 Plainfield Pike | Theory · range · road | 2024-01-22 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 401-943-2235 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Rhode Island's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Johnston
| School | City | Miles from Johnston | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New England Tractor trailer training of Mass, Inc | Pawtucket, RI | 9 | 2025-10-23 | not posted |
| Moov Drivers School Boston | Mendon, MA | 22 | 2024-10-23 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Johnston's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Johnston
8 programs nearest Johnston posted tuition to Rhode Island's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 10 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International CDL | CDL Class A | Johnston, RI | 0 | $6,500 | $75 | 83% | 84% |
| Teamsters Local 251 Driving School | CDL Class A Training Program | East Providence, RI | 9 | $5,500 | $0 | 87% | 86% |
| Teamsters Local 251 | 1024162-CDL Class A | East Providence, RI | 9 | $5,495 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| New England Tractor Trailer Training School | 1089612-CDL A 160 Commercial Drivers License Preparation | Pawtucket, RI | 10 | $6,595 | $400 | not reported | not reported |
| New England Tractor Trailer Training School | 1003528-Commercial Drivers License 540 (CDL - A) | Pawtucket, RI | 10 | $12,345 | $337 | not reported | not reported |
| New England Tractor Trailer Training School | 1016492-Commercial Driver's License (CDL A) | Pawtucket, RI | 10 | $12,095 | $125 | not reported | not reported |
| New England Tractor Trailer Training School | 1002330-Commercial Driver's License 160 (CDL-A) | Pawtucket, RI | 10 | $6,395 | $467 | not reported | not reported |
| New England Tractor Trailer Training School | 1093477-CDL a 540 | Pawtucket, RI | 10 | $12,395 | $285 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Rhode Island fees: commercial learner permit $74 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Johnston
A Rhode Island workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Rhode Island sites. Rhode Island terms · all carriers
Check a Johnston school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Johnston. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 99 for-hire trucking companies are based here.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Johnston?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $5,400 to $12,395, median $6,448. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Johnston?
1 location is registered in Johnston for Class A training, and 3 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Johnston school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Johnston
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Johnston. All Rhode Island cities