Home / CDL schools / Pennsylvania / Philadelphia
CDL schools in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
3 schools in Philadelphia are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Philadelphia on Pennsylvania's approved training list runs $3,000 to $8,000, with a $5,098 median across 12 programs. Truck drivers in the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD area earn a median $59,370 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Pennsylvania training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Philadelphia; 3 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Pennsylvania's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Philadelphia training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 9 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD area; 32,220 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Philadelphia
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 29 active registrants in Philadelphia: 25 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 4 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 1 school district or public school program, 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers, 1 bus or coach operator and 1 we could not classify from the registry record.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith & Solomon, Philadelphia Campus 2625 Wheatsheaf Lane | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-28 | not posted | Class B | 215-288-2294 |
| Global CDL Driver Training School 8501 Hegerman Street | Theory · range · road | 2025-10-20 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | 215-995-3031 |
| AAA School of Trucking 442 E. Girard Ave | Theory · range · road | 2021-10-13 | $5,500 | Class B, Hazmat | 267-324-5957 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Pennsylvania's training list.
Other registered schools in Philadelphia
Class B, passenger or school bus only: Nigels CDL Training LLC (no class listed).
Schools within 25 miles of Philadelphia
| School | City | Miles from Philadelphia | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Solutions | Camden, NJ | 5 | 2025-10-15 | not posted |
| Alpha CDL Academy | Bensalem, PA | 7 | 2025-02-07 | not posted |
| CDL Solutions LLC | Philadelphia, NJ | 8 | 2025-11-05 | not posted |
| CDL Pro | Beverly, NJ | 10 | 2023-06-13 | not posted |
| CDL Solutions LLC | Beverly, NJ | 10 | 2025-04-07 | not posted |
| CDL Solutions | Mount Laurel Township, NJ | 11 | 2025-10-15 | not posted |
| Smith & Solomon, Deptford Campus | Westville, NJ | 12 | 2026-09-28 | not posted |
| Cheapest ELDT certificates only 1500 for CDL | Woodbury, NJ | 12 | 2026-03-26 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Philadelphia's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Philadelphia
4 programs in Philadelphia posted tuition to Pennsylvania's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 12 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bordentown Driver Training School | Commercial Driver's License A (CDL A) | $5,195 | $350 | 91% | 20% |
| AAA School of Trucking INC | AAA CDL Class A Truck Driving | $5,500 | $455 | 92% | 22% |
| Global CDL Driver Training School LLC | CDL Class A | $5,675 | $75 | 96% | 20% |
| Ameelio Emerge Public Benefit Corporation | CDL Class A | Emerge Career | $8,000 | $252 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Pennsylvania fees: class a license (4 years) $128 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Philadelphia
A Pennsylvania workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Pennsylvania sites. Pennsylvania terms · all carriers
Check a Philadelphia school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 15 Philadelphia providers from the registry, 9 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 3,358 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 1,574,281 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Philadelphia?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,000 to $8,000, median $5,098. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Philadelphia?
3 locations are registered in Philadelphia for Class A training, and 22 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Philadelphia school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Philadelphia
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Philadelphia. All Pennsylvania cities