Home / CDL schools / Ohio / Columbus

CDL schools in Columbus, Ohio

2 schools in Columbus are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Columbus on Ohio's approved training list runs $4,995 to $12,760, with a $6,759 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the Columbus, OH area earn a median $61,720 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Ohio training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

2

Class A schools open to the public in Columbus; 2 teach theory, range and road.

$6,837

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Ohio permit ($32) and CDL ($47). Medical exam extra.

16

Columbus training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 10 of them involuntarily.

$61,720

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Columbus, OH area; 16,110 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Columbus

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 62 active registrants in Columbus: 62 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
International CDL School
3823 Sullivant Ave
Theory · range · road 2026-08-13 not posted Class B 614-966-9107
Roadmaster Drivers School (COL)
977 Frank Road
Theory · range · road 2022-02-21 $7,695 Class A only 800-831-1300

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Ohio's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of Columbus

SchoolCityMiles from ColumbusRegistry updatedPosted tuition
160 Driving Academy - ColumbusHilliard, OH72026-09-18not posted
Central Ohio Technical CollegePataskala, OH202026-09-30$4,995

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Columbus's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Columbus

5 programs in Columbus posted tuition to Ohio's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
Ohio Business College Truck Driving Academy Truck Driver Trainee-GTIII $5,500 $0 91% 79%
Unique Services Logistics Commercial Driver License Class A Program $6,523 $275 not reported not reported
Capital Transportation Academy Class A CDL Training Program $6,995 $0 93% 53%
Roadmaster Drivers School of Ohio Inc Commercial Drivers License/ Heavy Truck $7,695 $0 84% 66%
Fleet Parking Columbus CDL Academy $12,760 $0 not reported not reported

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

Ohio fees: commercial learner permit $32, skills test $50, class a license (4 years) $47 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Columbus

A Ohio workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Ohio sites. Ohio terms · all carriers

Check a Columbus school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 16 Columbus providers from the registry, 10 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 2,986 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 938,396 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Columbus?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,995 to $12,760, median $6,759. With Ohio's permit and license, about $6,837 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Columbus?

2 locations are registered in Columbus for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Columbus school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Columbus

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Columbus. All Ohio cities