Home / CDL schools / Ohio / Cleveland
CDL schools in Cleveland, Ohio
1 school in Cleveland is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Cleveland on Ohio's approved training list runs $1,895 to $25,845, with a $6,000 median across 13 programs. Truck drivers in the Cleveland, OH area earn a median $58,970 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Ohio training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Cleveland; none teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Ohio permit ($32) and CDL ($47). Medical exam extra.
Cleveland training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 9 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Cleveland, OH area; 11,970 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Cleveland
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 24 active registrants in Cleveland: 24 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy 14037 Puritas Ave Units A/D | Part of Class A | 2026-09-18 | not posted | Hazmat | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Ohio's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Cleveland
| School | City | Miles from Cleveland | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cuyahoga Community College CDL Training Program | Euclid, OH | 9 | 2021-07-13 | $5,695 |
| LDG Truck Driving School | Avon, OH | 19 | 2025-07-15 | not posted |
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School, Inc. | Columbia Station, OH | 21 | 2025-11-05 | $2,665 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Cleveland's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Cleveland
2 programs in Cleveland posted tuition to Ohio's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 13 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cuyahoga Community College | Class A or B CDL Refresher Course | $1,895 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Valley College - Cleveland | Commerical Driver License (CDL) Class A | $6,050 | $0 | 92% | 67% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Ohio fees: commercial learner permit $32, skills test $50, class a license (4 years) $47 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Cleveland
A Ohio workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Ohio sites. Ohio terms · all carriers
Check a Cleveland school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 10 Cleveland providers from the registry, 9 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 1,030 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 363,608 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Cleveland?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,895 to $25,845, median $6,000. With Ohio's permit and license, about $6,078 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Cleveland?
1 location is registered in Cleveland for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Cleveland school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Cleveland
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Cleveland. All Ohio cities