Home / CDL schools / Ohio / Avon
CDL schools in Avon, Ohio
1 school in Avon is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Avon on Ohio's approved training list runs $1,895 to $25,845, with a $6,050 median across 9 programs. Truck drivers in the Cleveland, OH area earn a median $58,970 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Ohio training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Avon; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Ohio permit ($32) and CDL ($47). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Avon.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Cleveland, OH area; 11,970 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Avon
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 2 active registrants in Avon: 2 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LDG Truck Driving School 34420 Mills Rd | Theory · range · road | 2025-07-15 | not posted | Class A only | 440-665-1171 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Ohio's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Avon
| School | City | Miles from Avon | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School, Inc. | Columbia Station, OH | 7 | 2025-11-05 | $2,665 |
| Lorain County Adult Career Center | Oberlin, OH | 15 | 2026-02-03 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy | Cleveland, OH | 19 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Cleveland | Medina, OH | 22 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| Hamrick School | Medina, OH | 24 | 2022-02-21 | $7,075 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Avon's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Avon
8 programs nearest Avon posted tuition to Ohio's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 9 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | Straight Truck / Bus Training Program (100 Clock Hours) | Columbia Station, OH | 8 | $4,545 | $150 | 92% | 72% |
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | CDL Skills Training Program | Columbia Station, OH | 8 | $6,645 | $150 | 90% | 64% |
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | Premier Training Program | Columbia Station, OH | 8 | $25,845 | $150 | not reported | not reported |
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | Premier Driver Development Program - Option 2 | Columbia Station, OH | 8 | $22,654 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | CDL Refresher | Columbia Station, OH | 8 | $2,665 | $150 | 100% | not reported |
| Valley College - Cleveland | Commerical Driver License (CDL) Class A | Cleveland, OH | 14 | $6,050 | $0 | 92% | 67% |
| Cuyahoga Community College | Class A or B CDL Refresher Course | Cleveland, OH | 18 | $1,895 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Hamrick School | Advanced Truck Driver Training | Medina, OH | 21 | $7,075 | $120 | 84% | 87% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Ohio fees: commercial learner permit $32, skills test $50, class a license (4 years) $47 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Avon
A Ohio workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Ohio sites. Ohio terms · all carriers
Check a Avon school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Avon. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 22 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 25,611 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Avon?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,895 to $25,845, median $6,050. With Ohio's permit and license, about $6,128 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Avon?
1 location is registered in Avon for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Avon school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Avon
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Avon. All Ohio cities