Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Wilson
CDL schools in Wilson, North Carolina
1 school in Wilson is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Wilson on North Carolina's approved training list runs $1,139 to $4,170, with a $2,703 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Eastern North Carolina earn a median $48,210 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Wilson; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.
Wilson training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the nonmetro part of Eastern North Carolina; 4,160 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Wilson
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 6 active registrants in Wilson: 6 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A2Z Trucking Academy 2801 US Highway 301 S | Theory · range · road | 2022-08-01 | $4,170 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 252-991-7536 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Wilson
| School | City | Miles from Wilson | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nash Community College | Rocky Mount, NC | 19 | 2025-07-21 | not posted |
| Sage Truck Driving Schools | Rocky Mount, NC | 20 | 2026-09-24 | $2,106 |
| Wayne Community College | Goldsboro, NC | 20 | 2025-12-08 | $1,139 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Wilson's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Wilson
6 programs nearest Wilson posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A2Z Trucking Academy | CDL Class A | Wilson, NC | 0 | $4,170 | $330 | 96% | 68% |
| Timbs and Heels Trucking Academy, LLC | 80 Hour Refresher Course | Rocky Mount, NC | 19 | $1,750 | $500 | not reported | not reported |
| Nash Community College | CDL B | Rocky Mount, NC | 19 | $2,106 | $369 | 97% | 42% |
| Nash Community College | CDL Truck Driver Training | Rocky Mount, NC | 19 | $4,006 | $372 | 96% | 51% |
| Timbs and Heels Trucking Academy, LLC | CDL Class a | Rocky Mount, NC | 19 | $3,300 | $1,200 | not reported | not reported |
| Wayne Community College | Truck Driver Training WFD/CE | Goldsboro, NC | 22 | $1,139 | $825 | 97% | 75% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Wilson
A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers
Check a Wilson school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Wilson provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 95 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 49,572 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Wilson?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,139 to $4,170, median $2,703. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $2,754 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Wilson?
1 location is registered in Wilson for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Wilson school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Wilson
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Wilson. All North Carolina cities