Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Smithfield
CDL schools in Smithfield, North Carolina
1 school in Smithfield is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Smithfield on North Carolina's approved training list runs $1,009 to $7,495, with a $3,458 median across 3 programs. Truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area earn a median $52,110 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Smithfield; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.
FMCSA hasn't removed any training providers in Smithfield.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area; 7,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Smithfield
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Smithfield: 1 is private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NC Truck Driver Training School 245 College Rd | Theory · range · road | 2025-10-30 | $1,009 | Class A only | 919-464-2339 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Smithfield
| School | City | Miles from Smithfield | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh | Clayton, NC | 16 | 2026-09-16 | not posted |
| On Point Trucking Academy | Dunn, NC | 20 | 2026-06-24 | not posted |
| Roadmaster Drivers School (DUN) | Dunn, NC | 21 | 2022-02-21 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh | Garner, NC | 22 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| Wayne Community College | Goldsboro, NC | 23 | 2025-12-08 | $1,139 |
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC | Raleigh, NC | 24 | 2024-11-13 | $3,458 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Smithfield's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Smithfield
3 programs nearest Smithfield posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 3 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Johnston Community College | CDL Truck Driver Training | Smithfield, NC | 0 | $1,009 | $264 | 35% | 62% |
| Roadmaster Drivers School of North Carolina, Inc. | CDL/Truck Driver Training | Dunn, NC | 20 | $7,495 | $200 | not reported | not reported |
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC | CDL Class A | Raleigh, NC | 21 | $3,458 | $250 | 93% | 52% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Smithfield
A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers
Check a Smithfield school before you pay
FMCSA hasn't removed any providers in Smithfield. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 39 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 13,114 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Smithfield?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,009 to $7,495, median $3,458. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $3,509 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Smithfield?
1 location is registered in Smithfield for Class A training, and 7 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Smithfield school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Smithfield
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Smithfield. All North Carolina cities