Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Garner
CDL schools in Garner, North Carolina
1 school in Garner is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Garner on North Carolina's approved training list runs $1,009 to $4,000, with a $3,500 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area earn a median $52,110 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Garner; none teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.
Garner training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area; 7,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Garner
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 4 active registrants in Garner: 4 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh 1330 Fifth Avenue, Suite 200 | Part of Class A | 2026-09-18 | not posted | Hazmat | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Garner
| School | City | Miles from Garner | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC | Raleigh, NC | 2 | 2024-11-13 | $3,458 |
| Charlie’s CDL School LLC | Raleigh, NC | 5 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh | Clayton, NC | 6 | 2026-09-16 | not posted |
| Miller-Motte College Raleigh | Raleigh, NC | 9 | 2026-09-30 | $4,000 |
| NC Truck Driver Training School | Smithfield, NC | 22 | 2025-10-30 | $1,009 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Garner's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Garner
6 programs nearest Garner posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC | CDL Class A | Raleigh, NC | 4 | $3,458 | $250 | 93% | 52% |
| Research Triangle Academy LLC | Class A CDL Training | Raleigh, NC | 8 | $3,500 | $395 | 100% | 70% |
| Big Prime Hauling LLC | CDL Class A Truck Driving Training Program | Raleigh, NC | 8 | $3,500 | $0 | 87% | 58% |
| Miller-Motte College | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | Raleigh, NC | 8 | $4,000 | $0 | 95% | 65% |
| BC Trucking Academy | CDL Class A | Raleigh, NC | 8 | $4,000 | $50 | not reported | not reported |
| Johnston Community College | CDL Truck Driver Training | Smithfield, NC | 21 | $1,009 | $264 | 35% | 62% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Garner
A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers
Check a Garner school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Garner provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 100 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 41,562 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Garner?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,009 to $4,000, median $3,500. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $3,551 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Garner?
1 location is registered in Garner for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Garner school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Garner
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Garner. All North Carolina cities