Home / CDL schools / North Carolina / Raleigh
CDL schools in Raleigh, North Carolina
3 schools in Raleigh are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Raleigh on North Carolina's approved training list runs $3,458 to $4,000, with a $3,500 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area earn a median $52,110 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · North Carolina training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Raleigh; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the North Carolina permit ($26) and CDL ($26). Medical exam extra.
Raleigh training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Raleigh-Cary, NC area; 7,210 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Raleigh
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 21 active registrants in Raleigh: 20 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 employer or carrier training their own drivers.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miller-Motte College Raleigh 3901 Capital Blvd | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-30 | $4,000 | Class A only | 866-937-1850 |
| Charlie’s CDL School LLC 421 Fayetteville St | Part of Class A | 2026-01-09 | not posted | Class A only | 919-632-8645 |
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC 3720 S. Wilmington Street | Theory · range · road | 2024-11-13 | $3,458 | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 919-329-0632 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on North Carolina's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Raleigh
| School | City | Miles from Raleigh | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh | Garner, NC | 5 | 2026-09-18 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy - Raleigh | Clayton, NC | 9 | 2026-09-16 | not posted |
| SAGE Truck Driving Schools - Durham, NC | Durham, NC | 25 | 2026-09-24 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Raleigh's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Raleigh
5 programs in Raleigh posted tuition to North Carolina's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carolina Trucking Academy LLC | CDL Class A | $3,458 | $250 | 93% | 52% |
| Big Prime Hauling LLC | CDL Class A Truck Driving Training Program | $3,500 | $0 | 87% | 58% |
| Research Triangle Academy LLC | Class A CDL Training | $3,500 | $395 | 100% | 70% |
| BC Trucking Academy | CDL Class A | $4,000 | $50 | not reported | not reported |
| Miller-Motte College | CDL Training: Class A Tractor Trailer | $4,000 | $0 | 95% | 65% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
North Carolina fees: commercial learner permit $26, class a license $26 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Raleigh
A North Carolina workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list North Carolina sites. North Carolina terms · all carriers
Check a Raleigh school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 15 Raleigh providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 870 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 506,306 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Raleigh?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,458 to $4,000, median $3,500. With North Carolina's permit and license, about $3,551 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Raleigh?
3 locations are registered in Raleigh for Class A training, and 6 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Raleigh school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Raleigh
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Raleigh. All North Carolina cities