Home / CDL schools / California / Richmond
CDL schools in Richmond, California
1 school in Richmond is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Richmond on California's approved training list runs $2,313 to $11,250, with a $6,607 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA area earn a median $66,450 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · California training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Richmond; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because California's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Richmond training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA area; 16,450 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Richmond
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Richmond: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contra costa trucking driving school | Theory · range · road | 2025-11-10 | not posted | Class B, Hazmat | not listed |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on California's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Richmond
| School | City | Miles from Richmond | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Academy of Truck Driving | Oakland, CA | 11 | 2022-01-14 | $2,313 |
| Bestway truck & bus cdl school湾区商业驾校 | Oakland, CA | 11 | 2022-09-17 | not posted |
| Easy Affordable Truck Academy | Vallejo, CA | 13 | 2025-04-10 | not posted |
| MTS Training Academy, Inc. | Vallejo, CA | 15 | 2025-10-07 | $7,500 |
| Apex Truck Driving School | Concord, CA | 20 | 2026-09-02 | not posted |
| Moga Truck School Inc. | Petaluma, CA | 22 | 2026-08-27 | not posted |
| National Driving School Inc. | San Lorenzo, CA | 24 | 2022-03-08 | not posted |
| CDL instructor trucking LLC | Hayward, CA | 25 | 2025-09-25 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Richmond's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Richmond
6 programs nearest Richmond posted tuition to California's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Academy of Truck Driving | Commercial Driver Class A or B Express | Oakland, CA | 12 | $2,313 | $75 | not reported | not reported |
| Academy of Truck Driving | Commercial Driver Super Session | Oakland, CA | 12 | $8,213 | $400 | not reported | not reported |
| Academy of Truck Driving | Commercial Driver Refresher | Oakland, CA | 12 | $2,663 | $75 | not reported | not reported |
| Academy of Truck Driving | Class A Commercial Drivers License Program | Oakland, CA | 12 | $5,713 | $400 | 82% | 67% |
| MTS Training Academy | Class A Truck Driver | Vallejo, CA | 15 | $7,500 | $683 | 96% | 68% |
| MTS Training Academy | Class A Truck Driver w/ School Bus or VTT Certificate | Vallejo, CA | 15 | $11,250 | $965 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
California fees: class a license $100 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Richmond
A California workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list California sites. California terms · all carriers
Check a Richmond school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Richmond provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 93 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 114,861 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Richmond?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,313 to $11,250, median $6,607. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Richmond?
1 location is registered in Richmond for Class A training, and 9 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Richmond school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Richmond
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Richmond. All California cities