Home / CDL schools / California / Merced
CDL schools in Merced, California
2 schools in Merced are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Merced on California's approved training list runs $4,900 to $5,000, with a $4,950 median across 2 programs. Truck drivers in the Merced, CA area earn a median $55,630 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · California training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Merced; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because California's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Merced training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Merced, CA area; 1,710 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Merced
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 7 active registrants in Merced: 7 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Advanced Career Institute Merced Ca 1741 Ashby Rd, Suite B | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-04 | not posted | Hazmat | 209-580-4960 |
| Merced Community College 630 W 19th Street | Theory · range · road | 2022-01-06 | not posted | Class A only | 209-381-6540 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on California's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Merced
| School | City | Miles from Merced | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Valley Opportunity Center, Inc. | Winton, CA | 8 | 2025-05-09 | $5,000 |
| Empire Truck Driving School | Turlock, CA | 21 | 2024-06-14 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Merced's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Merced
2 programs nearest Merced posted tuition to California's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 2 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Merced County Office of Education | Professional Truck Driving | Merced, CA | 0 | $4,900 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Central Valley Opportunity Center | Professional Truck Driver | Winton, CA | 9 | $5,000 | $484 | 84% | 85% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
California fees: class a license $100 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Merced
A California workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list California sites. California terms · all carriers
Check a Merced school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Merced provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 220 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 99,724 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Merced?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,900 to $5,000, median $4,950. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Merced?
2 locations are registered in Merced for Class A training, and 4 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Merced school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Merced
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Merced. All California cities