Home / CDL schools / Virginia / Alexandria
CDL schools in Alexandria, Virginia
2 schools in Alexandria are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Alexandria on Virginia's approved training list runs $2,200 to $5,230, with a $4,375 median across 8 programs. Truck drivers in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV area earn a median $59,820 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Virginia training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Alexandria; 2 teach theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Virginia permit ($3) and CDL ($64). Medical exam extra.
Alexandria training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV area; 20,430 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Alexandria
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Alexandria: 5 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lido CDL School | Theory · range · road | 2024-08-13 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | not listed |
| 1st CDL Training Center of Nova 5716 Telegraph Road Suit B | Theory · range · road | 2022-01-12 | $4,250 | Class B, Passenger | 703-347-7999 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Virginia's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Alexandria
| School | City | Miles from Alexandria | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HOPE Project Training Academy DC1 | Washington, DC | 7 | 2024-03-22 | not posted |
| Ancora at Northern Virginia Community College | Annandale, VA | 7 | 2026-09-30 | $4,500 |
| Gear Up CDL Training, LLC | District Heights, MD | 12 | 2025-12-29 | not posted |
| HOPE Project Training Academy MD1 | Forestville, MD | 13 | 2026-01-09 | not posted |
| Maryland CDL (pka.Affordable cdl training) | Forestville, MD | 14 | 2026-06-16 | not posted |
| CDL Ez Now | Hyattsville, MD | 14 | 2023-04-12 | not posted |
| Tnl CDL | Woodbridge, VA | 14 | 2024-10-11 | not posted |
| AAA CDL School LLC | Manassas, VA | 18 | 2026-03-19 | not posted |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Alexandria's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Alexandria
8 programs nearest Alexandria posted tuition to Virginia's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 8 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1st CDL Training Center of Nova | CDL A (Tractor Trailer) | Alexandria, VA | 0 | $4,250 | $0 | 96% | 59% |
| Northern Virginia Community College | Commercial Driver's License Class A Training | Annandale, VA | 6 | $4,500 | $0 | 97% | not reported |
| Toni Thomas Associates, Inc. | Commercial Driver's License-Class A (200 Clock Hours) | Washington, DC | 6 | $5,230 | $25 | 98% | 15% |
| 7 CDL Driving School | CDL Class A | Manassas, VA | 17 | $3,500 | $0 | 100% | 44% |
| Marshall CDL Driving School | Class A CDL License | Manassas, VA | 18 | $3,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Safe Driving Academy | CDL Class A | Herndon, VA | 19 | $4,990 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| CDL Safe Driving Academy | CDL Class C | Herndon, VA | 19 | $2,200 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| Prince George's Community College | Class-A Commercial Driver's License (150 clock hours) | Largo, MD | 19 | $5,175 | $300 | 73% | 53% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Virginia fees: commercial learner permit $3, class a license (8 years) $64 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Alexandria
A Virginia workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Virginia sites. Virginia terms · all carriers
Check a Alexandria school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 4 Alexandria providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 502 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 160,662 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Alexandria?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,200 to $5,230, median $4,375. With Virginia's permit and license, about $4,442 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Alexandria?
2 locations are registered in Alexandria for Class A training, and 13 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 2 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Alexandria school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Alexandria
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Alexandria. All Virginia cities