Home / CDL schools / Tennessee / Powell
CDL schools in Powell, Tennessee
1 school in Powell is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Powell on Tennessee's approved training list runs $1,992 to $5,000, with a $4,495 median across 4 programs. Truck drivers in the Knoxville, TN area earn a median $59,100 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Tennessee training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Powell; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Tennessee permit ($14) and CDL ($70). Medical exam extra.
Powell training provider FMCSA has removed from the registry, involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Knoxville, TN area; 8,130 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Powell
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 1 active registrant in Powell: 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 bus or coach operator.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee Truck Driving School 7142 Clinton Highway | Theory · range · road | 2026-09-01 | $5,000 | Class B | 865-330-0035 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Tennessee's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Powell
| School | City | Miles from Powell | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee College of Applied Technology Knoxville | Knoxville, TN | 8 | 2022-06-16 | $1,992 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Powell's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Powell
4 programs nearest Powell posted tuition to Tennessee's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 4 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee Truck Driving School | Class a CDL Training | Powell, TN | 0 | $5,000 | $454 | 89% | 84% |
| Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Knoxville | Truck Driving | Knoxville, TN | 5 | $1,992 | $349 | 88% | 75% |
| Compassionate Care Technical Center, INC | Class A CDL Truck Driving Training | Knoxville, TN | 11 | $4,990 | $450 | not reported | not reported |
| Smokey Mountain Trucking Institute | Class a CDL Part Time | Sevierville, TN | 22 | $4,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Tennessee fees: commercial learner permit $14, class a license (8 years) $70 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near Powell
A Tennessee workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Tennessee sites. Tennessee terms · all carriers
Check a Powell school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 1 Powell provider from the registry, involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 24 for-hire trucking companies are based here.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Powell?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,992 to $5,000, median $4,495. With Tennessee's permit and license, about $4,579 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in Powell?
1 location is registered in Powell for Class A training, and 2 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Powell school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Powell
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Powell. All Tennessee cities