Home / CDL schools / Tennessee / Knoxville

CDL schools in Knoxville, Tennessee

1 school in Knoxville is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Knoxville on Tennessee's approved training list runs $1,992 to $5,000, with a $4,495 median across 4 programs. Truck drivers in the Knoxville, TN area earn a median $59,100 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Tennessee training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

1

Class A school open to the public in Knoxville; 1 teaches theory, range and road.

$4,579

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Tennessee permit ($14) and CDL ($70). Medical exam extra.

20

Knoxville training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.

$59,100

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Knoxville, TN area; 8,130 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Knoxville

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 26 active registrants in Knoxville: 25 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 bus or coach operator.

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Knoxville
901 Liberty St
Theory · range · road 2022-06-16 $1,992 Class B 865-546-5567

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Tennessee's training list.

Other registered schools in Knoxville

Class B, passenger or school bus only: OCC- CDL Academy (Class B, Passenger, School bus).

Schools within 25 miles of Knoxville

SchoolCityMiles from KnoxvilleRegistry updatedPosted tuition
Tennessee Truck Driving SchoolPowell, TN82026-09-01$5,000

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Knoxville's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Knoxville

2 programs in Knoxville posted tuition to Tennessee's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 4 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
Tennessee College of Applied Technology at Knoxville Class A CDL Training - Industry Driven Training leading to Employment $1,992 $349 92% 89%
Compassionate Care Technical Center, INC Class A CDL Truck Driving Training $4,990 $450 not reported not reported

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

Tennessee fees: commercial learner permit $14, class a license (8 years) $70 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Knoxville

A Tennessee workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Tennessee sites. Tennessee terms · all carriers

Check a Knoxville school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 20 Knoxville providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 401 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 202,021 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Knoxville?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $1,992 to $5,000, median $4,495. With Tennessee's permit and license, about $4,579 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Knoxville?

1 location is registered in Knoxville for Class A training, and 2 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Knoxville school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Knoxville

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Knoxville. All Tennessee cities