Home / CDL schools / Ohio / North Canton
CDL schools in North Canton, Ohio
1 school in North Canton is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of North Canton on Ohio's approved training list runs $4,267 to $8,327, with a $5,510 median across 5 programs. Truck drivers in the Canton-Massillon, OH area earn a median $57,580 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Ohio training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in North Canton; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the Ohio permit ($32) and CDL ($47). Medical exam extra.
North Canton training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Canton-Massillon, OH area; 2,270 work there.
Every registered Class A school in North Canton
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 6 active registrants in North Canton: 6 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stark State College CDL Training Program 6200 Frank Ave. NW | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-05 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, Hazmat | 330-494-6170 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Ohio's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of North Canton
| School | City | Miles from North Canton | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Great Lakes Truck Driving School | Canton, OH | 7 | 2025-12-02 | not posted |
| Stark State College CDL Training Program | Akron, OH | 9 | 2026-01-05 | $8,327 |
| MTC Truck Driver Training | Akron, OH | 11 | 2024-11-15 | not posted |
| 160 Driving Academy | Akron, OH | 11 | 2026-09-18 | $5,510 |
| Akron Driving Academy | Akron, OH | 12 | 2025-11-05 | not posted |
| Hamrick School | Medina, OH | 24 | 2022-02-21 | $7,075 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of North Canton's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in North Canton
5 programs nearest North Canton posted tuition to Ohio's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 5 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big Rig Truck Driving School, Inc | Truck Driver Training | Massillon, OH | 8 | $4,995 | $0 | 76% | 67% |
| CDL Training Services of Cleveland | Basic Truck Driver Training | Akron, OH | 10 | $6,995 | $0 | 86% | 82% |
| 160 Driving Academy | CDL Class A CDL Training | Akron, OH | 12 | $5,510 | $0 | 79% | 79% |
| Stark State College | CDL | Akron, OH | 16 | $8,327 | $55 | 51% | 83% |
| FORTIS College Cuyahoga Falls | Class A CDL Driving Program | Cuyahoga Falls, OH | 19 | $4,267 | $225 | not reported | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Ohio fees: commercial learner permit $32, skills test $50, class a license (4 years) $47 (DMV, October 5, 2026).
Free and company-paid training near North Canton
A Ohio workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 3 carrier programs we track list Ohio sites. Ohio terms · all carriers
Check a North Canton school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 3 North Canton providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 49 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 17,692 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in North Canton?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $4,267 to $8,327, median $5,510. With Ohio's permit and license, about $5,588 before the medical exam.
How many CDL schools are in North Canton?
1 location is registered in North Canton for Class A training, and 7 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a North Canton school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near North Canton
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from North Canton. All Ohio cities