Home / CDL schools / New York / Rochester

CDL schools in Rochester, New York

1 school in Rochester is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Rochester on New York's approved training list runs $5,145 to $8,855, with a $7,125 median across 6 programs. Truck drivers in the Rochester, NY area earn a median $58,920 a year.

Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · New York training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)

1

Class A school open to the public in Rochester; 1 teaches theory, range and road.

$7,300

Typical first-time cost: median posted tuition plus the New York permit ($10) and CDL ($165). Medical exam extra.

6

Rochester training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.

$58,920

Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Rochester, NY area; 4,020 work there.

Every registered Class A school in Rochester

Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 37 active registrants in Rochester: 36 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 1 ticks "open to the public" but is not a school that takes students: 1 school district or public school program.

SchoolClass A trainingRegistry updatedPosted tuitionAlso teachesPhone
160 Driving Academy - Rochester NY
1200C Scottsville Rd, Suite 190
Theory · range · road 2026-09-18 $5,145 Class B, Hazmat not listed

Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on New York's training list.

Schools within 25 miles of Rochester

SchoolCityMiles from RochesterRegistry updatedPosted tuition
Canandaigua Driving SchoolFarmington, NY182024-05-22$6,995

Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Rochester's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.

What CDL school costs in Rochester

4 programs in Rochester posted tuition to New York's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 6 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.

ProgramCourseTuitionSuppliesFinishedWorking 6 months later
160 Driving Academy Class A CDL License Training $5,145 $0 80% not reported
Professional Driver Institute Inc.(monroe/fingerlakes Counties) 48 CDL B Training $5,255 $0 81% 67%
Professional Driver Institute Inc.(monroe/fingerlakes Counties) Road Test Prep Course $7,255 $0 not reported not reported
Professional Driver Institute Inc.(monroe/fingerlakes Counties) 160 CDL A Tractor Trailer Training $8,855 $0 93% 65%

Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.

New York fees: commercial learner permit $10, skills test $40, class a license (8 years) $165 (DMV, October 5, 2026).

Free and company-paid training near Rochester

A New York workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list New York sites. New York terms · all carriers

Check a Rochester school before you pay

FMCSA has removed 6 Rochester providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 339 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 206,108 people.

Questions people ask

How much is CDL school in Rochester?

Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $5,145 to $8,855, median $7,125. With New York's permit and license, about $7,300 before the medical exam.

How many CDL schools are in Rochester?

1 location is registered in Rochester for Class A training, and 2 are within 25 miles of the city. 1 updated its registry record in 2026, and none has left it untouched for over two years.

Can a Rochester school with an old registry record still train me?

Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.

CDL schools near Rochester

Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Rochester. All New York cities