Home / CDL schools / Michigan / Grand Rapids
CDL schools in Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 school in Grand Rapids is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and takes students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Grand Rapids on Michigan's approved training list runs $2,000 to $5,000, with a $4,528 median across 8 programs.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Michigan training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A school open to the public in Grand Rapids; 1 teaches theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Michigan's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Grand Rapids training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
BLS lists no wage for this area.
Every registered Class A school in Grand Rapids
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 20 active registrants in Grand Rapids: 20 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A&b CDL INC. 3417 Roger B Chaffee | Theory · range · road | 2022-03-14 | $5,000 | Class B, Hazmat | 616-530-7070 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Michigan's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Grand Rapids
| School | City | Miles from Grand Rapids | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Michigan C.D.L., Inc. | Grandville, MI | 5 | 2024-01-22 | $4,000 |
| FCG Truck Driver Training, Inc. | Byron Center, MI | 7 | 2021-08-25 | $2,000 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Grand Rapids's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Grand Rapids
8 programs nearest Grand Rapids posted tuition to Michigan's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 8 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | City | Miles | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A+B CDL Inc. | CDL Class A Truck Driving Training | Wyoming, MI | 2 | $5,000 | $0 | 100% | not reported |
| West Michigan CDL Inc. | CDL Class A Course - 5 day Course | Grandville, MI | 5 | $4,000 | $143 | 100% | 100% |
| West Michigan CDL Inc. | CDL Class A 80 hour training program | Grandville, MI | 5 | $4,500 | $143 | 99% | 83% |
| West Michigan CDL Inc. | CDL Class A - 80 Hour Weekend Program | Grandville, MI | 5 | $5,000 | $143 | 97% | 86% |
| FCG Truck Driver Training Inc | CDL Class A - 80 Hour Program | Byron Center, MI | 7 | $4,555 | $0 | 99% | not reported |
| FCG Truck Driver Training Inc | CDL Class C - 16 Hour Program | Byron Center, MI | 7 | $2,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| FCG Truck Driver Training Inc | CDL Class A - 160 Hour - Nights or Weekend Program | Byron Center, MI | 7 | $5,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| FCG Truck Driver Training Inc | CDL Class A - 40 Hour Program | Byron Center, MI | 7 | $4,120 | $0 | 98% | not reported |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Michigan's permit and license fees are not confirmed on its DMV pages, so none are shown.
Free and company-paid training near Grand Rapids
A Michigan workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Michigan sites. Michigan terms · all carriers
Check a Grand Rapids school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 11 Grand Rapids providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 375 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 201,183 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Grand Rapids?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,000 to $5,000, median $4,528. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Grand Rapids?
1 location is registered in Grand Rapids for Class A training, and 3 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Grand Rapids school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Grand Rapids
Number of Class A schools open to the public, then straight-line miles from Grand Rapids. All Michigan cities