Home / CDL schools / Michigan / Detroit
CDL schools in Detroit, Michigan
6 schools in Detroit are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Detroit on Michigan's approved training list runs $2,000 to $10,935, with a $4,900 median across 21 programs. Truck drivers in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI area earn a median $59,120 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Michigan training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Detroit; 5 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Michigan's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Detroit training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, 5 of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI area; 25,780 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Detroit
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 9 active registrants in Detroit: 9 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only).
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drivexperience INC. 8140 Mark Twain St | Theory · range · road | 2026-05-26 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | not listed |
| Freedom Truck Driving School 7175 Clayton St | Theory · range · road | 2026-01-27 | $5,000 | Hazmat | 313-552-4122 |
| Gtr Trucking School INC 1545 Clay St., 7 | Theory · range · road | 2024-01-26 | $3,995 | Class A only | 313-505-5056 |
| Ez Truck Driving School INC 12280 Burt Rd | Part of Class A | 2024-01-22 | not posted | Class A only | 313-687-3320 |
| Wayne County Community College District 5901 Conner St | Theory · range · road | 2022-03-21 | not posted | Hazmat | 313-579-6930 |
| All Stars Truck Driving School Inc. 1411 Central St. | Theory · range · road | 2022-02-14 | $4,999 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 313-841-2222 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Michigan's training list.
Schools within 25 miles of Detroit
| School | City | Miles from Detroit | Registry updated | Posted tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24/7 Smooth Truck Driving School LLC | Dearborn, MI | 4 | 2023-12-12 | $4,000 |
| Michigan Truck Driving School | Romulus, MI | 13 | 2025-04-21 | $4,748 |
| U.S. Truck Driver Training School, Inc. | Sterling Heights, MI | 14 | 2022-06-15 | not posted |
| Suburban Truck Driver Training School | Romulus, MI | 14 | 2025-12-16 | $3,575 |
| All Cities Truck Driving School | Shelby Township, MI | 21 | 2023-12-14 | not posted |
| Billy's CDL School LLC | Novi, MI | 22 | 2026-06-26 | not posted |
| Coast To Coast Truck Driving School | Macomb, MI | 23 | 2024-02-12 | $2,085 |
Nearest first, straight-line distance from the middle of Detroit's schools. Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026.
What CDL school costs in Detroit
7 programs in Detroit posted tuition to Michigan's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 21 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 Placement LLC | CDL BP Course | $2,000 | $0 | 100% | not reported |
| GTR Trucking School | CDL Class A - 160 Hour Program | $3,995 | $0 | 86% | not reported |
| 100 Placement Truck Driving School | CDL Class A Course - 160 Hour | $4,995 | $0 | 100% | 39% |
| All Stars Truck Driving School Inc. | CDL Class A | $4,999 | $0 | 100% | 47% |
| Freedom Truck Driving School | Entry Level Commercial Motor Vehicle Training | $5,000 | $0 | 64% | not reported |
| Detroit Training Center | CDL B Training Program | $5,500 | $0 | 82% | 64% |
| Detroit Training Center | Commercial Drivers License - Class A | $6,000 | $0 | 68% | 65% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Michigan's permit and license fees are not confirmed on its DMV pages, so none are shown.
Free and company-paid training near Detroit
A Michigan workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Michigan sites. Michigan terms · all carriers
Check a Detroit school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 7 Detroit providers from the registry, 5 of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 696 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 649,095 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Detroit?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $2,000 to $10,935, median $4,900. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Detroit?
6 locations are registered in Detroit for Class A training, and 13 are within 25 miles of the city. 2 updated their registry record in 2026, and 4 have left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Detroit school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Detroit
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Dearborn, MI (1); Romulus, MI (2); Sterling Heights, MI (1); Shelby Township, MI (1); Novi, MI (1); Macomb, MI (1); Washington, MI (1); Ann Arbor, MI (1). All Michigan cities