Home / CDL schools / Louisiana / Lake Charles
CDL schools in Lake Charles, Louisiana
3 schools in Lake Charles are on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry for Class A training and take students from the public. Posted tuition at programs within 25 miles of Lake Charles on Louisiana's approved training list runs $3,000 to $6,000, with a $5,950 median across 3 programs. Truck drivers in the Lake Charles, LA area earn a median $49,960 a year.
Registry file Oct 5, 2026 · BLS wages May 2025 · Louisiana training list (TrainingProviderResults.gov)
Class A schools open to the public in Lake Charles; 3 teach theory, range and road.
Median posted tuition within 25 miles. We show no first-time total because Louisiana's permit and license fees are not both confirmed.
Lake Charles training providers FMCSA has removed from the registry, all of them involuntarily.
Median pay for heavy truck drivers in the Lake Charles, LA area; 1,340 work there.
Every registered Class A school in Lake Charles
Newest registry update first; a record untouched for over two years is marked red. We left out 5 active registrants in Lake Charles: 3 are private (training the employees or students of one organization only); 2 tick "open to the public" but are not schools that take students: 2 school districts and public school programs.
| School | Class A training | Registry updated | Posted tuition | Also teaches | Phone |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOWELA Technical Community College 3820 Sen. J. Bennett Johnston | Theory · range · road | 2025-09-26 | $5,950 | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 337-421-6560 |
| AGI Driving Academy 4019 Common St | Theory · range · road | 2025-01-03 | not posted | Class A only | 337-202-0212 |
| Coastal Truck Driving School 4030 Goodman Ln | Theory · range · road | 2024-01-18 | not posted | Class B, Passenger, School bus, Hazmat | 337-240-7240 |
Source: FMCSA registry file, Oct 5, 2026. Tuition: the school's own row on Louisiana's training list.
What CDL school costs in Lake Charles
3 programs in Lake Charles posted tuition to Louisiana's training list, the one workforce boards pay from; the median above covers all 3 programs within 25 miles. Finished and working are what the program reported for past students.
| Program | Course | Tuition | Supplies | Finished | Working 6 months later |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CDL Mentors LLC. | Upgrade from B to A | $3,000 | $0 | not reported | not reported |
| SOWELA Technical Community College | CDL Training Program | $5,950 | $40 | 92% | 75% |
| CDL Mentors LLC. | CDL Training Class A (HYBRID) | $6,000 | $0 | 85% | 80% |
Source: TrainingProviderResults.gov programs, Oct 5, 2026.
Louisiana's permit and license fees are not confirmed on its DMV pages, so none are shown.
Free and company-paid training near Lake Charles
A Louisiana workforce board can pay tuition under WIOA at a school on the state's list, and 2 carrier programs we track list Louisiana sites. Louisiana terms · all carriers
Check a Lake Charles school before you pay
FMCSA has removed 2 Lake Charles providers from the registry, all of them involuntarily. A removed school cannot certify your training. Look the school up on our check-a-school page. 97 for-hire trucking companies are based here, in a city of 82,676 people.
Questions people ask
How much is CDL school in Lake Charles?
Posted tuition within 25 miles runs $3,000 to $6,000, median $5,950. Fees and the medical exam are extra.
How many CDL schools are in Lake Charles?
3 locations are registered in Lake Charles for Class A training, and 3 are within 25 miles of the city. No school here updated its registry record in 2026, and 1 has left it untouched for over two years.
Can a Lake Charles school with an old registry record still train me?
Yes if its status is Active: an old record only means the listing was not edited. Call the school and confirm the schedule and price.
CDL schools near Lake Charles
No other city with a page is within 35 miles.
Also within 35 miles: Starks, LA (1). All Louisiana cities